what is a crypto token (1)

加密貨幣101:什麼是代幣?

在本文中,加密貨幣101:什麼是代幣?我們將討論代幣概念。在談論加密貨幣時,您可能聽說過代幣和硬幣。我們其實可以互換使用這兩個術語。但是您知道這兩個術語代表兩個完全不同的含義和概念嗎?關於這兩個術語有很多困惑,所以讓我解釋一下並幫助您更好地理解。

用最簡單的術語來說,代幣的價格是由一組織決定的。在加密貨幣的背景下,需要注意的是,這必須被社區接受並在區塊鏈上得到支持。

加密貨幣和代幣之間的分別是非常重要。雖然加密貨幣獨立運行並使用自己的平台,但代幣是建立在現有區塊鏈之上的加密貨幣。

什麼是硬幣?

首先,讓我們深入研究硬幣。我們可以認為硬幣是數碼貨幣。與黃金類似,硬幣的供應是有限制的,它們可以廣泛互換,並且可以被刪除。現時有900多種不同的硬幣發行,但是肯定大多數人都聽說過比特幣,這是比以太坊、萊特幣、瑞波幣等加密貨幣更早發行的一種加密貨幣。每種硬幣在自己的區塊鏈上運行。 

簡單來說,比特幣運行在比特幣的區塊鏈上,以太幣運行在以太坊區塊鏈。很容易理解吧?所有交易都是公開的,在區塊鏈系統中每個人都是透明的。現在,這些硬幣中的大多數的用途都非常簡單,它的用途是用於一些功能,如轉賬,儲值和充當記帳單位。 

Girl holding Token

什麼是代幣?

我們知道來什麼是硬幣,讓我們重回到什麼是代幣。許多人認為代幣和硬幣是相同的,但這是不正確的。兩者之間有很大的不同!與硬幣不同,代幣是需要在現有的區塊鏈上創建的。 

代幣的引入首先是在以太坊平台上。在此平台上構建的代幣稱為ERC-20代幣。以太坊允許用戶建立自己的代幣,這些代幣能夠為創建者完成特定任務。還有其他示例,例如NEO使用稱為NEP代幣。以上所有平台均允許用戶製作自己的自定義代幣。這些代幣中大多數用於與基於不同區塊鏈構建的去中心化應用程式進行交互。 

加密貨幣與代幣

加密貨幣和代幣之間的分別是非常重要。雖然加密貨幣獨立運行並使用自己的平台,但代幣是建立在現有區塊鏈之上的加密貨幣。

當公司通過首次代幣發行或首次代幣發行募資時,它會將代幣分配給有興趣使用加密貨幣的投資者。大多數首次代幣發行都是使用以太坊的 ERC20 平台。 

代幣種類

主要的代幣有兩種:安全代幣和實用代幣。安全代幣與公司的傳統股票最相似,因為它們的價值來自可交易的外部資產。 

另一方面,實用代幣的設計與傳統投資不同。取而代之的是,它們使持有人可以取得公司未來的產品或服務。因此,根據代幣的設計,針對代幣發行的實用代幣可以不受監管。 

此外,還有很多不同類型的代幣,例如權益代幣和支付代幣。所有這些不同類型的代幣都具有與名稱相關的特定功能。代幣的最大優點是它不需要任何編程或數學技能。以太坊平台等許多平台都支持創建者創建自己的令牌。這可以為他們節省時間,同時也可以讓他們擁有自己的代幣。 

如何使用代幣?

我們可以如何使用台幣?對於安全代幣,它們最常見的用途是作為首次代幣發行的籌款工具。 

隨著行業日趨成熟,我們可以期望看到更多代幣使用,例如支付、記賬、參與網絡的獎勵,確保網絡受保護、安裝額外服務的網關、提供更好的用戶體驗以及數字資產所有權,例如房地產,產品或公司股份。

我們已經看到例如黃金和房地產等商品的代幣化。隨著代幣與現有的全球銀行系統整合,同時更多政府法開始立例規管,它們將獲得公眾的信任。如果大規模採用,代幣首次發行募資有一天可以取代首次公開募股系統,相信可以鞏固公眾信任。 

硬幣與代幣交易

Tokens for Pizza

至於轉賬,您可以存入和賦予價值,類似於您的法定貨幣。至於儲存的價值,它可以是您保留的東西,然後換成有價值的東西。可以將其視為股票,以金錢換取價值。 

此外,它是會計單位,用途是對商品和服務進行定價。很有用吧?但是,還必須注意,不同的硬幣具有不同的特徵。一些像以太幣之類的硬幣具有除以前以外的其他功能。例如,以太幣的使用也為以太坊網絡上的交易提供了動力。這對以太坊自己的平台來說很特別。 

例如:BAT

例如,像我們的文章中所提及的“Basic Attention Token”(如果您沒有沒有閱讀,請 此處。)BAT是向觀看廣告的用戶付費的代幣。通過使用Brave網絡瀏覽器,對於您觀看的每個廣告,您都可以通過BAT獲得收入。用戶還可以使用BAT支持他們最喜歡的內容創建者。 BAT令牌是一種數字令牌,但是還有其他一些令牌可以表示物理事物。 Like ArtPro是一個利用ArtPro令牌來允許用戶在線購買藝術品的平台。這是令牌如何用於交換實物資產的示例。 

這不是很難理解吧?現在您知道了兩者之間的區別,如果您喜歡這文章,記得在下方留言告訴我們那一種是你最喜愛的代幣和硬幣! 

發表回覆

你的電郵地址並不會被公開。 必要欄位標記為 *

了解更多

What is Serum (SRM)?

What is Serum (SRM)? In collaboration with our partner, Alameda Research, we are excited to announce the release of the Serum token. The Serum token

更多

甚麼是DeFi?

DeFi is an acronym for Decentralized Finance. This generally refers to digital assets, smart contracts, protocols, and DApps (decentralized applications) that are built on Ethereum.

更多

Genesis Block 與 Alameda Research

Today, Genesis Block is thrilled to announce a partnership with Alameda Research, a leading quantitative trading firm. Alameda was founded back in October of 2017,

更多
保持更新!

what is a crypto token (1)

Crypto 101: What’s a Token?

In this article Crypto 101: What’s a Token? We will talk about the Token concept. You might have heard the word token and coin when talking about cryptocurrency. These two terms that we use loosely and interchangeably. But do you know that the two terms represent two completely different meanings and concepts? There has been quite some confusion around these two terms, so let me explain and help you better understand.

In the simplest terms a Token is a unit of value given by an organization. In the context of cryptocurrency, the caveat is that this must be accepted by a community and supported on the blockchain.

It’s important to define the difference between a cryptocurrency and a token. While a cryptocurrency operates independently and uses its own platform, a token is a cryptocurrency built on top of an existing blockchain.

What is a Coin?

So, let’s first dive into coins. We can consider Coins to be digital money. Similar to gold, coins supply has a limit, they are widely exchangeable, and they are divisible. There are over 900 different examples of coins, but out of these I am sure that most of you have heard of Bitcoin, that’s one of the first digital coins to bring up other cryptocurrencies like Ether, Litecoin, Ripple, etc. Each of these coins operate on their own blockchain. 

To make it clearer, Bitcoin operates and functions on the Bitcoin blockchain, Ether operates and functions on the Ethereum blockchain. Pretty easy to understand right? All transactions are made public and transparent to everyone in the blockchain system. Now, the purpose of most of these coins are quite simple, it’s use is for a few functions, to transfer money, store value, and act as a unit of account. 

Girl holding Token

What is a Token?

Now that we have a better understanding for coins, let’s revisit tokens. Many people assume tokens and coins are one in the same, but that’s not correct. There’s a pretty big difference between the two! Unlike coins, we create tokens on existing blockchains. 

The introduction of tokens was first on the Ethereum platform. The tokens that are built on this platform are known as ERC-20 tokens. Ethereum allows users to create their own tokens that are able to accomplish specific tasks for the creator. There are also other examples like NEO that uses tokens known as NEP- tokens. All the above platforms allow users to make their own custom tokens. Most of these tokens are used to interact with decentralized applications that are built on top of the different blockchains. 

Cryptocurrencies vs Tokens

It’s important to define the difference between a cryptocurrency and a token. While a cryptocurrency operates independently and uses its own platform, a token is a cryptocurrency built on top of an existing blockchain.

When a company raises funds in an initial coin offering or ICO, it does this by issuing tokens which it distributes to investors with interest in contributing with crypto funds. Most ICOs issue tokens built on Ethereum’s ERC20 platform. 

Types of Tokens

There are two primary types of tokens that we can issue. Security Tokens and Utility Tokens. Security Tokens are most similar to traditional shares of a company, because their value derives from a tradeable external asset. 

On the other hand, Utility Tokens don’t have the same design as traditional investments. Instead, they give the holders access to a company’s future product or service. Because of this, Utility Tokens could be exempt from regulation with the aim at securities depending on the tokens design. 

In addition, there are quite a few different types of tokens, like equity tokens and payment tokens. All these different types of tokens have their own specific function in relation to their name. The biggest advantage of a token is that it does not require any prior skills with programming or mathematics. Many platforms like the Ethereum platform supports creators to create their own token. This allows them to benefit as it saves time while also allows them to have their own token. 

How are Tokens Used?

How do we use Tokens? For security tokens, their most common use is as a fundraising vehicle for Initial Coin Offerings. 

As the industry matures though, we can expect to see more use of tokens as a form of payment, accounting, rewards for participation in a network, ensuring network protection, installing a gateway to extra services, providing a better user experience, and digital asset ownership such as real estate, products, or company shares.

We have already seen the tokenization of commodities such as gold and real estate. And as tokens integrate with the existing global banking system and begin operating under more government regulation, they will gain the public’s trust. ICOs could even one day replace the IPO system if mass adoption and we can establish public trust. 

Coin & Token Transactions

Tokens for Pizza

As for transferring money, you can use them to receive and give value, similar to your normal fiat currencies. As for the store value, it can be something that you hold onto and later swap for something useful. This can be thought of as stocks, generating value in exchange for money. 

Additionally, it serves as a unit of account and its use is for pricing goods and services. Quite useful right? But, it is also important to note that different coins have different features. Some coins like Ether have other functions other than the previous. For example, Ether’s use is also as a fuel for transactions on the Ethereum network. That’s something special to Ethereum’s own platform. 

Example: BAT

To better understand this, let me give you an example. The Basic Attention Token like in our article “BAT” (be sure to check that out if you haven’t already here). BAT is a token that pays users for watching ads. By using the Brave web browser, for every ad that you watch, you will get paid in BAT. Users are also able to use BAT to support their favorite content creators. The BAT token is a type of digital token, but there are also other tokens that can represent physical things. Like ArtPro is a platform that utilizes the ArtPro token to allow users to purchase art works online. This is an example of how tokens are useful to exchange for physical assets. 

That was not too hard to understand right? Now that you know the difference between the two, leave a comment down below for your favorite coin and token! 

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Learn More

Genesis Block and FTX

ATMS NOW SELL FTT Today, we are happy to announce a collaboration between Genesis Block and FTX! We will be carrying their token, FTT through

Read More »
Stay up to date!