Sandbox

The Sandbox 沙盒(SAND):讓玩家創作得到回報的區塊鏈創世遊戲

什麼是 The Sandbox(沙盒)?你是否曾想像過一個虛擬世界,玩家可以在其中建立、擁有遊戲的一切事物,並能獲得收益回報?《沙盒》(The Sandbox)這款區塊鏈遊戲,採用以太坊(Ethereum)區塊鏈為基礎,運用平台的功能型代幣$SAND,就能為你提供這種體驗。沙盒是大型手機遊戲公司Animoca Brands旗下的子公司,遊戲亦與Animoca發行的代幣 REVV有所合作。

沙盒遊戲願景

沙盒遊戲背後團隊擁有創建「多重宇宙」(metaverse)世界的龐大願景,讓玩家可以在沒有任何中央權力限制的情況下,互相協作創建虛擬世界。團隊希望透過真正向用戶提供遊戲擁有權,顛覆Minecraft和Roblox等現存遊戲開發商的龍頭地位。此外,沙盒遊戲用戶將能夠為其創作,獲得非同質化代幣(non-fungible token,NFT),並通過參與該遊戲平台獲得功能型代幣$SAND作為獎勵。  

當前的遊戲市場存在一個重大問題,就是遊戲權力中心化、及對創作者擁有權的限制。用戶難以掌控其在遊戲當中的創作內容,自然令用戶難以因為創作獲得任何價值回報。而且,目前的遊戲模式下,用戶難以證明對自家創作的創意擁有權,因為許多內容都很容易就被複製、更改、或被他人用來建造新品。  

沙盒遊戲能夠解決所有這些關鍵問題,同時更加可以推動區塊鏈技術在不斷增長的遊戲市場中得到普及應用。這個立體像素遊戲平台,讓玩家/創作者在沒有任何中央機構管控的情況下製作內容、遊玩、分享內容、收集儲存和進行交易。創作者的創作版權得到安全保障,並能夠獲取SAND代幣作為收益。此外,所有創作內容的版權,都將以NFT的形式建立、儲存 — 遊戲中的每個項目,都將具有唯一且不變的區塊鏈識別碼。

沙盒遊戲生態體系

沙盒遊戲生態體系具有三個主要部分,三部分緊密相連,內容全面由用戶創作、製作,為玩家帶來一種嶄新遊戲體驗。

1. VoxEdit

簡單而強大的免費立體像素遊戲設計工具,讓用戶創建3D角色或道具,包括人物、動物、甚或樹木等,並進行動畫處理,這些3D角色或道具,將能夠輸出到沙盒遊戲的交易所,成為遊戲中的資產。

2. Marketplace(交易所)

用戶可以將自己用VoxEdit創建的作品,發佈、上載,並以代幣形式(ERC-721和ERC-1155)在沙盒遊戲的網上交易所出售。

3. Game Maker(遊戲製作模式)

擁有遊戲資產的用戶,可以透過Game Maker,在沙盒遊戲使用資產。在Game Maker模式下,用戶可以擁有一幅「土地」、即是$LAND(ERC-721代幣),並在該幅「土地」使用自己擁有的遊戲資產。用戶亦可以使用$ASSET代幣,裝飾自己的LAND土地,並設計出遊戲機制,創造遊戲體驗。

沙盒遊戲技術結構:

如前所述,沙盒遊戲平台僅在以太坊區塊鏈上運作,讓用戶可以不受限制地轉讓、出售或使用代幣。用戶的所有ASSET資料,將會透過IPFS儲存,確保只有經擁有者許可的情況下,ASSET資料才可以更改。

沙盒遊戲的標準協議規格是ERC-20,包括遊戲中的SAND、GEM和CATALYST代幣,而土地和資產的儲存和交易,則採用ERC-1155和ERC-721標準的規格。

圖片來源:沙盒 The Sandbox

沙盒遊戲的技術結構概覽:

圖片來源:沙盒 The Sandbox

沙盒遊戲使用了以 Unity為技術架構建立的遊戲運算引擎,以提升遊戲運作表現。基於對遊戲質素的高度重視,沙盒遊戲使用Unity的Universal Render Pipeline(URP),未來將可支援移動設備平台而不會降低遊戲質素。遊戲運算引擎亦支援Voxedit的Voxel設計模型、動畫綁定(rigging)功能、以及動畫格式(VXR、VXA、VXM)。

如何使用 SAND 代幣?

SAND代幣是沙盒遊戲平台的重要元素。作為在以太坊區塊鏈上構建的ERC-20規格功能型代幣,SAND將用作沙盒遊戲平台上的交易方式。SAND代幣的應用例子包括:

  • 使用沙盒遊戲功能 – 玩家可以使用SAND來玩遊戲、購買設備道具、或設計角色。玩家必須支付或抵押SAND,才能買入ASSET和LAND。  
  • 參與治理(Governance) 在DAO運作架構下,SAND代幣持有者有資格投票和得到平台獎勵,他們可透過投票或委託他人投票,參與平台的治理機制。 
  • 抵押代幣收息(Staking) – SAND持有者可以抵押代幣,得到被動收入。 
  • 費用計算模式 – 以SAND代幣進行的所有交易,金額當中5%將平均分配到平台的Staking Pool(抵押資金池)作為對用戶的獎勵以及Foundation(基金會)資金
  • Foundation(基金會) – 基金會的主要功能是支援沙盒遊戲平台的生態體系發展,基金會將提供獎勵金,獎勵平台上的高質素內容和遊戲製作。

區塊鏈與非區塊鏈遊戲平台比較:

圖片來源:沙盒 The Sandbox 白皮書

代幣銷售安排和代幣經濟模式:

代幣分配

圖片來源:Binance(幣安)

代幣銷售

代幣治理和資金使用機制

沙盒遊戲團隊設定以下數類資金用途:

開發團隊 和遊戲平台基礎設施發展– 45% – 45%

營銷 – 45%

程式保安、法律和合規性 開支 – 7%

一般及行政 開支 – 3%

所有資金將以加密貨幣、穩定幣和法定貨幣形式持有。 

未來計劃

2021:

  • 合作夥伴 – 發佈新IP和高級NFT
  • 基金會– 啟動具有SAND代幣抵押的Foundation DAO,對Creators Fund管理機制進行投票
  • Game Maker – 正式發佈1.0版本及主要更新,其中包含更多遊戲包、遊戲行為和視覺場景劇本設計 
  • 遊戲 – 正式發佈1.0版本和主要更新 
  • LAND代幣公開發售 – 常規LAND銷售將繼續進行 
  • 營銷活動 – Additional Seasons計劃向用戶發放豐厚獎勵 
  • 跨遊戲平台 – 遊戲將可於智能手機和平板電腦設備上運作 
  • 多人遊戲 – 成為首款具有多人遊戲模式的用戶創作遊戲 
  • SAND – 建立權益抵押機制讓用戶可以獲得及保存收益 

 

2022:

  • 合作夥伴 – 發佈新IP和高級NFT
  • 遊戲平台 – 建立超過1,000款遊戲 
  • 跨平台 – 遊戲可於遊戲機(consoles)運作
  • LAND代幣公開發售 – 常規LAND銷售將繼續進行 
  • Game Maker – 推出共同創建模式(Co-Building Mode),讓玩家與他人一起創建遊戲內容,並推出具有第三層程式編製的遊戲劇本設計,以及包含更多遊戲包和遊戲行為設計的主要更新
  • 營銷活動 – Additional Seasons計劃向用戶發放豐厚獎勵 

 

2023:

  • 遊戲平台 – 建立超過5,000款遊戲 
  • 合作夥伴 – 發佈新IP和高級NFT
  • Game Maker – 重大更新,添加更多遊戲包和遊戲行為設計 
  • 營銷活動 – Additional Seasons計劃向用戶發放豐厚獎勵
  • DAO – 沙盒DAO可以參與遊戲平台上的重大決策

總結

隨著遊戲產業的不斷發展,沙盒遊戲可以為未來游戲玩家、以及遊戲設計本身帶來革新。用戶/玩家可以參與具備治理機制和經濟價值的去中心化平台,同時還可以享受遊戲體驗。沙盒遊戲的背後團隊將繼續提升平台發展,使每個人在沙拿遊戲中玩樂、創作遊戲內容、儲存遊戲資產、得到收益、以及管理和擁有遊戲資產。我們希望你能夠通過本文了解有關沙盒遊戲的更多資訊,歡迎你訂閱 Genesis Block 的通訊,繼續關注沙盒遊戲與其他加密貨幣的最新發展。 

通訊

Sandbox

What is The Sandbox?

What is the Sandbox? Have you ever imagined a world where players can build, own, and monetize their gaming experiences? Sandbox is a virtual world that is able to accomplish that. It achieves this experience on the Ethereum blockchain utilizing SAND, the platform’s utility token. Sandbox is a subsidiary of the legendary Animoca Brands and is also involved with REVV

The Vision

The team behind Sandbox has a strong vision to create a metaverse that will allow players to create virtual worlds collaboratively and without any central authority. So the team aims to disrupt the existing game makers like Minecraft and Roblox to truly provide users with ownership. Furthermore, users will be able to obtain a  “non-fungible” token for their creations and gain rewards for participating with the platform’s utility token – SAND.  

There exists a crucial issue with the current game market and that is with the centralized ownership and limitations with creator ownership rights. So the lack of user control over their creations restricts the ability for users to generate any value for their creations. To make things even more difficult, it is challenging to justify creative ownership of many of the creations as many of the contents are copied, altered, and built upon.  

Sandbox is able to solve all these fundamental issues while also accelerating the adoption of blockchain technology to the growing gaming market. Above all, this will be achieved by building a voxel gaming platform that will allow creators to craft, play, share, collect, and trade without any central authority. Creators will also be able to benefit from the secure copyright ownerships by receiving SAND. Furthermore, all of the copyright ownerships will be established via NFTs – where each item in the game will have an unique and immutable blockchain identifier.

The Ecosystem

The Sandbox ecosystem has three integral parts that work together to create an one of a kind of an experience for users. So with this platform, users are able to experience the comprehensiveness of user-generated content production.

1. VoxEdit

A simple and powerful free 3D voxel modelling package that will allow users to create and animate 3D objects like people, animals, foliage, and tools. In addition, these objects will be able to be exported into the Sandbox marketplace and become in-game assets.

2. Marketplace

Sandbox’s web-based marketplace will allow users to publish, upload, and sell their creations made on VoxEdit. The creations will be sold as tokens (ERC-721 and ERC-1155).

3. Game Maker

For anyone that owns assets, users can utilize them with the Game Maker and the game itself. When in the Game Maker mode, users can use assets within a piece of LAND (an ERC-721 token) and also own the land in the virtual world. Users will be able to decorate their LAND with ASSETs and also implement interesting gameplay mechanics to create a fuller game experience.

The Technical Structure:

As mentioned previously, the Sandbox platform runs exclusively on Ethereum. By running on Ethereum, users can transfer, sell, or use tokens without any restrictions. To store all the information of ASSETS, the IPFS is used. Therefore, the IPFS ensures that information cannot be changed without a permission from the owners.

The standard protocol for Sandbox is the ERC-20. It is used for SAND, GEM, and CATALYST tokens. So the storage and trading of LAND and ASSETS are under the ERC-1155 and ERC-721 standards.

Image taken from Sandbox

Below shows the overall structure of Sandbox:

Image taken from Sandbox

To better optimize gameplay on the platform, Sandbox uses a game engine built on Unity. So with a strong sense of quality in mind, Sandbox uses Unity’s Universal Render Pipeline (URP) which will be able to support mobile platforms in the future without sacrificing the quality of games. The game engine also supports custom Voxel models, rigging, and animation formats (VXR, VXA, VXM) from Voxedit.

So what is SAND and how do I use it?

SAND acts as an essential part of the Sandbox platform. As an ERC-20 utility token built on the Ethereum platform it will serve as the basis of transactions on the Sandbox platform. The following are few of the use cases of the SAND token:

  • Access to Sandbox Platform – Players can spend SAND to play games, buy equipment, or customize their Avatar. So to acquire ASSETS and LAND, the creator must spend SAND or stake SAND.  
  • Governance Holders of the SAND token will be able to participate in the governance of the platform – under the DAO structure. Token holders will be able to execute voting rights and attributes to grants. SAND owners can also vote themselves or delegate others for voting rights. 
  • Staking – SAND also allows users to participate in staking. This will be a passive source of revenue. 
  • Fee Capture Model – 5% of all transaction volume carried out in SAND tokens will be split equally to the Staking Pool as a reward and the “Foundation”
  • Foundation – The main function of the Foundation is to support the ecosystem of the Sandbox platform. This Foundation will provide grants which will incentivize high quality content and game production on the platform.

Blockchain vs Non-blockchain Gaming Platforms:

Photo from Sandbox Whitepaper

Token Sales and Economics:

Token Allocation

Photo taken from Binance

Token Sales

Token Governance and Usage of Funds

The team will split the usage of the funds in the following categories:

Growth for development team and infrastructure for game platform – 45%

Marketing – 45%

Security, legal, and compliance expenses – 7%

General and administrative expenses – 3%

All the funds will be held in cryptos, stablecoins, and fiat currencies. 

Future Plans

2021:

  • Partnerships – New IPs and Premium NFTs announcement soon
  • Foundation – Launch of the Foundation DAO with SAND staking for voting on Creators Fund management
  • Game Maker – Official Release 1.0 and major updates with more gaming packages, Behaviors and Visual Scripting 
  • Game – Official Release 1.0 and major updates 
  • LAND Public sale – Regular LAND sales will continue 
  • Events – Additional Seasons with big rewards to earn 
  • Multi-platforms – Availability of Game on smartphones and tablets devices 
  • Multiplayer – First user-generated games with multiplayer modes 
  • SAND – Staking mechanisms for Yield generation and curation 

 

2022:

  • Partnerships – New IPs and Premium NFTs announcement soon
  • Games Platform – Over 1,000 Games available 
  • Multi-platforms – Availability of Game on consoles
  • LAND Public sale – Regular LAND sales will continue 
  • Game Maker – Co-Building Mode – creating games with Friends, Custom Scripting with programming 3rd layer and major updates with more gaming packages and Behaviors
  • Events – Additional Seasons with big rewards to earn 

 

2023:

  • Games Platform – Over 5,000 Games available 
  • Partnerships – New IPs and Premium NFTs announcement soon
  • Game Maker – Major updates with more gaming packages and behaviors added 
  • Events – Additional Seasons with big rewards to earn
  • DAO – The Sandbox DAO will allow to participate in major decisions on the Game Platform

Conclusion

In conclusion, with the continual growth of the gaming industry, Sandbox serves as a revolutionary platform for future gamers and games. Users can participate in a decentralized platform with governance and economy while also enjoying the gaming experience. The team behind Sandbox will also continue to build the platform in a way that will allow everyone to play, create, collect, earn, govern, and own assets in the game. 

Newsletter

What is Impermanent Loss?

What is impermanent loss? With the increasing popularity of DeFi platforms, many of you probably have heard of Uniswap and other AMM platforms. The technology

Read More »

What is Reef Finance?

What is Reef Finance? The Problem What is Reef Finance? Well to start, let’s take a look at the problem their platform solves. With the

Read More »

What is PersistenceOne?

What is PersistenceOne? One of the biggest concerns that people face today is the increasing financial debt of many countries. A lot of people are

Read More »

What is UTU?

What is UTU? In Swahili “UTU” means humanity. It’s also the principle behind UTU the company, which puts people first in their platform that turns

Read More »