what-is-tezos

加密貨幣101:什麼是 Tezos (XTZ) ?

歡迎閱讀加密貨幣101:什麼是 Tezos (XTZ) ? Tezos是一個去中心化應用程式(dApps)和智能合約的區塊鏈平台。這平台是由Google X和Waymo的研究工程師Arthur Breitman和Arthur Breitman的妻子Kathleen Breitman 開發。

發行Tezos 的主要原因是Arthur看到了比特幣存在的問題。貨幣無法發展,經常導致硬分叉。因此,兩名紐約大學畢業生於2017年時進行了數字貨幣首次公開募資,籌集了2.32億美元。在公開募資之後不久,這加密貨幣於2018年7月推出了beta網絡。Tezos背後的團隊擁有谷歌、Waymo、高盛、摩根士丹利、R3 CEV、Bridgewater Associates等多家大公司的先前經驗!此外,團隊背後也有很多知名人士,例如:Polychain Capital的創始人Olaf CarlsonWee和著名的投資者Tim Draper。

什麼是 XTZ?

XTZ,tez或ꜩ是Tezos 區塊鏈平台上的本幣。不能像比特幣一樣開採這種加密貨幣。相反,它是稱為權益證明的過程的一部分,在此過程中,代幣持有者因作為運作的一部分而獲得了部分獎勵。

Tezos的用途

像以太坊一樣,Tezos 透過智能合約於區塊鏈平台上運行。有不少的正式管理或儲存智能合約安全的應用程式非常適合Tezos 平台使用。這些包括數字資產(加代幣的房地產、數碼貨幣、數碼收藏品)和金融合同(掉期,貸款等)。由於Tezos能夠利用其智能合約語言來提供安全性和效率,因此這些應用程序在平台上特別有效。

Tezos 是如何運作?

Tezos使用權益證明(POS)共識算法。許多人也將此稱為流動的權益證明。因此,為了更好地理解這一點,我們將其分為三個部分: Block Creation, Delegating以及 Fork Choice Rule

1. 區塊的產生 (烘焙)

區塊創建或烘焙是使區塊鏈繼續發展的原因。因此,在Tezos平台中,參與創建區塊者稱為烘焙師。烘焙師透過提供計算能力來驗證交易來協助網絡。為此,他們通過新鑄造的XTZ(每塊16 XTZ)獲得獎勵。烘焙師還必須為其創建的每​​個區塊設置512 XTZ的保證金(POS)。他們將這種保證金鎖定總共5個週期(〜14天)。如果烘焙師重複烘焙,他們可能會被大幅削減押金。 

要成為烘焙師,參與者必須持有至少10,000 XTZ(1卷)。當然,參與者參加的擲骰數越多,他們獲得烘焙下一個區塊的權利的機會就越高。例如:某個時間點總共激活了20個卷,而烘焙師擁有5/20個卷。因此,這意味著烘焙師有40%的機會獲得創建新塊的權利。但是,請務必注意,擲骰是按10,000計算的,因此,如果您有19,999,則仍視為一擲。 

烘焙權也是烘焙的關鍵部分。這些權利是根據優先級確定的。讓我們看一個例子,以更好地理解這一點: 

優先級1 = 卷3

優先級2 = 卷1

優先級3 = 卷9

….

優先級10 = 卷4

從上面的示例中可以看到,持有第3卷的人在提議該區塊時具有第一優先權。他們將有幾分鐘的時間來創建或播放一個塊。一旦時間結束,排隊的下一個人(第一卷)將接任。 

2. 委託

現在您可能想知道,如果某人沒有10,000 XTZ或不想建立烘烤區塊所需的基礎結構,該怎麼辦?正因如此,就有了委派機制。委派機制允許用戶將他們的硬幣委派給烘焙師。因此,硬幣持有者可以將其硬幣“借給”烘焙師,這樣烘焙師就有更高的選擇概率。然後,烘焙師可以與硬幣持有人分享收益。 

*此處請注意,烘焙師不能使用委託給他們的XTZ,烘焙師偷取別人的 XTZ並逃跑。 此外,一些機構已經開始提供烘烤的收費服務。服務會就著特定的烘焙按獎勵收取10%至20%的費用。如果您想了解有關不同烘焙服務的更多資訊,請查看以下連結: https://mytezosbaker.com/.

3. Fork Choice Rule

關於Tezos共識算法的最後一個重要概念是Fork Choice Rule。這協議有助於分辨哪個鏈分叉是“正確的”。在比特幣系統中,“正確”的分叉是通過規範鏈中最長的鏈決定的。對於Tezos而言,“正確”的分叉基於認可的區塊上烘焙師的數量。烘焙師有創建區塊的責任,也有認可區塊的責任。在每個區塊高度,他們會隨機選擇32卷來認可一個區塊,然後會選擇認可度最高的區塊作為典範。 

如果烘焙師認可了一個最終成為規範的區塊,他們將獲得XTZ作為獎勵。因此,這將鼓勵烘焙師認可他們認為別人亦會認可的區塊。同樣,在烘烤的情況下,認可過程會要求烘焙師以64 XTZ下注。這有助避免沒有資金下注的問題。

Tezos 交易的確定性

Tezos交易沒有確定性。使用目前的Tezos協議,他們認為30次確認(約30分鐘)是對最終交易的良好估計。特別是由於這種數碼貨幣使用基於區塊鏈的POS共識算法,因此可能會進行區塊鏈重組。用戶必須等待確認,以確保交易不會被撤消。

可以如何購買 Tezos?

像所有其他加密貨幣一樣,Tezos可以在交易所購買。其中包括:Binance、gate.io、Huobi和HitBTC。您也可以通過場外交易購買Tezos,如果您有興趣,請告訴我們!

如何儲存 Tezos?

通過持有Tezos代幣,用戶可以與其區塊鏈進行互動。有許多硬和軟錢包都支援Tezos。軟錢包包括Galleon Wallet、AirGap、Kukai、Zengo,而硬錢包包括兩個著名的Ledger和Trezor。因此,如果您想了解有關加密貨幣存儲的更多信息,請隨時閱讀這篇有關存儲加密貨幣的文章。

Tezos 與 Ethereum

以太坊平台開發之後,Tezos與以太坊相比絕對具有許多優勢。更快的交易速度和區塊的時間使平台非常成功。另外,與Tezos 的共識算法也被更多的開發者所允許。儘管如此,大多數代幣仍然使用以太坊。這種加密貨幣到底將來會發展成什麼樣呢,因為這平台仍有很大的成功潛力。

Tezos 的未來

隨著團隊不斷尋求在隱私、共識、多樣性、智能合約和管理方面的改善,Tezos的未來似乎充滿希望。此外,這平台有多個項目正在進行中,很期待看看這些不同的項目如何在Tezos平台上發揮。要了解有關他們的團隊未來計劃的更多資訊,請查看以下鏈接: https://learn.tqtezos.com/files/future.html#intro.

感謝您閱讀我們的文章。如果您喜歡這篇文章,請不要忘記訂閱並查看我們的其他文章。

通訊

參考

what-is-tezos

Crypto 101: What is Tezos?

Welcome to Crypto 101: What is Tezos? Tezos is a Blockchain platform that supports decentralized applications (dApps) and smart contracts. The platform was first developed by Arthur Breitman, research engineer for Google X and Waymo, and Kathleen Breitman, wife of Arthur Breitman.

The main reason for the creation of this Crypto was that Arthur saw a problem with Bitcoin. The currency was unable to evolve and that often led to hard forks. Hence, the two NYU graduates launch an ICO in 2017 raising $232 million US dollars. So shortly after the ICO, this cryptocurrency launched its beta network in July of 2018. The team behind Tezos has previous experiences from many big firms like Google, Waymo, Goldman Sachs, Morgan Stanley, R3 CEV, Bridgewater Associates, and more! Moreover, the team has a lot of big names behind it too, for example: Olaf CarlsonWee, founder of Polychain Capital, and Tim Draper, a renown investor.

What is XTZ?

XTZ, tez, or ꜩ is the native currency on Tezos Blockchain platform. This Cryptocurrency cannot be mined like Bitcoin. Instead, it is part of a process known as proof-of-stake where token holders receive a part of the reward for being a part of the mechanism.

What is Tezos Used For?

Like Ethereum, Tezos functions with smart contracts on their Blockchain platform. There are certain applications that are well-suited for the Tezos platform based on formal governance and focus on smart contract security. These include digital assets (tokenized real-estate, digital money, digital collectibles) and financial contracts (swaps, loans, etc). These applications work particularly well on the platform as Tezos is able to utilize its smart contract language to provide security and efficiency.

How Does Tezos Work?

Tezos uses a Proof-of-Stake (POS) consensus algorithm. Many people also refer to this as Liquid Proof-of-Stake. So to better understand this, let’s break it up into three parts: Block Creation, Delegating, and Fork Choice Rule

1. Block Creation (Baking)

Block Creation or Baking is what allows the Blockchain to continue to progress. Therefore in the Tezos platform, participants who create blocks are known as bakers. Baker assists the network by contributing computing power to validate transactions. For this, they receive a reward through newly minted XTZ (16 XTZ per block). Bakers will also have to set up a security deposit (POS) of 512 XTZ per block they create. They lock this security deposit for a total of 5 cycles (~14 days). If the baker double bakes, they may slash the deposit. 

In order to be a baker, participants must hold at least 10,000 XTZ (1 roll). Of course, with the more rolls a participant may have, the higher the chances of them receiving the rights to bake the next block. For example: if there are a total of 20 rolls activated at a point of time, and a baker owns 5/20 of the rolls. So, this would mean that the baker has a 40% chance of receiving the rights to create the new block. However, it’s important to note that rolls are calculated on a 10,000 basis, so if you have 19,999 that is considered still as one roll. 

Baking rights are also a crucial part of baking. These rights are set in terms of priorities. Let’s look at an example to better understand this: 

Priority1 = Roll 3

Priority2 = Roll 1

Priority3 = Roll 9

….

Priority10 = Roll 4

As you can see from the above example, the person who holds Roll 3 has the number one priority in proposing the block. They will be given a minute to create or broadcast a block. Once that time is over, the next person in line, Roll 1, will take over. 

2. Delegating

Now you may wonder, what can someone do if they do not have 10,000 XTZ or do not want to set up the infrastructures needed to bake blocks? This is where delegating comes in. Delegating allows users to delegate their coins to a baker. So, coin holders can “lend” their coins to a baker and with that the baker will have a higher probability of selection. The baker can then share the revenue with the coin holder. 

*Note here that the baker cannot spend the XTZ that is delegated to them, and bakers cannot run away with other people’s XTZ. Furthermore, some groups have started offering rates for their baking services. Many of these services charge a 10~20% fee on rewards obtained from delegated baking. If you would like to find out more about the different baking services, check out this URL: https://mytezosbaker.com/.

3. Fork Choice Rule

The last important concept about the Tezos consensus algorithm is the Fork Choice Rule. This protocol helps to decide which chain fork is “correct”. In the Bitcoin system, the “correct” fork is decided via the longest chain in the canonical one. While for Tezos, the “correct” fork is based on the number of bakers that endorsed the block. Bakers have the responsibility of creating blocks but also the responsibility of endorsing blocks. At every block height, they select 32 rolls randomly to endorse a block, and the block that has the most endorsements will then be chosen as the canonical one. 

If a baker endorses a block that eventually becomes a canonical block, they will get a reward via XTZ. So this will incentivize bakers to endorse the block that they believe others will endorse. Similarly, in the context of baking, endorsing requires bakers to stake 64 XTZ per endorsement. This helps to prevent the problem of Nothing-at-Stake.

So Do Transactions with Tether have Finality?

Tezos transactions do not have finality. With current Tezos protocol, 30 confirmations (~roughly 30 minutes) is they consider as a good estimation for a transaction to be considered as final. Especially since this digital currency uses a chain-based POS consensus algorithm, there is the possibility of a chain reorganization. Therefore, users must wait a number of confirmations to be confident that the transactions will not be reversed.

How Do You Buy Tezos?

Tezos like all other cryptocurrencies can be bought at an exchange. These include: Binance, gate.io, Huobi, and HitBTC. You can also purchase Tezos via OTC, let us know if you are interested!

How to Store Tezos?

By holding the Tezos token, users can interact with their blockchain. There are many hardware and software wallets that allow users to store Tezos. Software wallets include Galleon Wallet, AirGap, Kukai, Zengo, while Hardware Wallets include the two well known, Ledger and Trezor. So if you want to learn more about the storage of cryptocurrencies, feel free to check out this article on storing your cryptocurrency.

Tezos vs Ethereum

Having developed after the Ethereum platform, Tezos definitely has many advantages when compared to Ethereum. The faster transaction speed and blocktime is what allows the platform to be so successful. In addition, the consensus algorithm with Tezos is also more developer allowing . Despite all that, Ethereum is still the home to the majority of tokens in the crypto space. It will be interesting to see what this cryptocurrency will develop into in the future, hence the platform still has a lot of potential for success.

The Future of Tezos

The future of Tezos seems promising as the team continues to look to improve key features of their platform in terms of privacy, consensus, scalability, smart contracts, and governance. Furthermore, the platform has several projects underway and it will be interesting to see how these different projects play out on the Tezos platform. To learn more about what their team has planned for its future, check out this link: https://learn.tqtezos.com/files/future.html#intro.

Thanks for reading Crypto 101: What is Tezoz? If you enjoy reading this article don’t forget to subscribe to our newsletter and checkout some of our other content below:

Newsletter

What is Serum (SRM)?

What is Serum (SRM)? In collaboration with our partner, Alameda Research, we are excited to announce the release of the Serum token. The Serum token

Read More »

What is DeFi?

DeFi is an acronym for Decentralized Finance. This generally refers to digital assets, smart contracts, protocols, and DApps (decentralized applications) that are built on Ethereum.

Read More »

Resources