ioppppp-960x426

分片(Sharding)技術解釋

比特幣和以太坊屬於緩慢的區塊鏈網絡。分片可以將掘礦能力劃分為小的分片部分,每個小分片能夠同時處理分片前的工作量。所以:分片=速度!

分片:區塊鏈加速擴容技術

由於區塊鏈技術缺乏可擴展性,每秒只能處理幾筆交易,導致區塊鏈技術較難獲得大規模使用。 比特幣(BTC)每秒只可處理5筆交易(tps),而 以太坊每秒只能處理12筆交易,因此現有的區塊鏈技術相比於傳統的中心化付款系統如Visa及以AWS作為雲端計算軟件的服務難以競爭。 例如隨著2017年CryptoKitties的普及就已經大大降低了只有數千名使用者的以太坊網絡速度。 這對於使用以太坊作為服務的公司來說無疑是一個問題。

當前,維護比特幣和以太坊網絡的每部電腦,都在同一公共賬簿(public ledger)上工作。換句話說,每個節點都必須處理每宗交易。將更多電腦或運算力添加到網絡中,只能提升安全性、而不能提高交易處理效率。這涉及到所謂區塊鏈「三難困境」(Blockchain Trilemma),即是目前沒有一個區塊鏈可以同時實現快速擴充(scalaibility)、安全性(security)和去中心化(decentralization)。

比特幣和以太坊是受工作量證明( Proof-of-Work)保護的區塊鏈網絡。世界各地有數十萬台電腦及專用的挖礦機處理交易。比特幣和以太坊是一個既安全又去中心化的點對點(P2P)付款系統/世界電腦。但是,它們並不能立即擴大至社區使用。為了提高使用度,市場已提出許多解決方案。例如,BitcoinCash(比特幣的硬分叉)增加了區塊鏈內每個區塊的大小,允許區塊內能處理更多的交易;而另一開發的第二層閃電網絡(Lightning Network)則利用鏈下支付的渠道來減輕主鏈的負擔;而最受歡迎的方法 --- 分片,則由不同的區塊鏈項目,包括以太坊、Zilliqa、Quarkchain等開發的。

分片(Sharding)技術解釋

分片是一種橫向進行的分區(partitioning)設計,作為一種數據庫設計原則,主要用於分隔數據庫伺服器以分散運算負擔,讓區塊鏈解決擴充能力偏低、交易處理延遲的問題。

在區塊鏈中實施分片技術,即是將網絡分為不同的片區(shards),並行處理交易。每個節點將只有區塊鏈網絡的部分數據、而非全部數據,可以同時處理更多交易。例如,假設一個具有1,000個節點的網絡,可以將網絡劃分為10個片區,每個片區由100個節點組成,如此而來整體網絡的處理速度應增加10倍。

一個具有1,000個節點的網絡,可以將網絡劃分為10個片區,如此而來整體網絡的處理速度應增加10倍。

單片區接管攻擊(Single-Shard Takeover Attack)

實施分片的網絡會產生新的運作風險,包括單片區接管攻擊。

單片區接管攻擊,即是指網絡當中一個片區被惡意節點控制,該片區的交易可能會被篡改。

防止單片區接管攻擊,應對方法是防止攻擊者將其雜湊運算能力(hash-power)集中到單一片區。

將節點分配到不同片區的方法是當中關鍵。以太坊(Ethereum)的分片解決方案,會在每個片區上隨機抽出驗證者(validators)。足夠的隨機性可以確保驗證者不會知道他們將預先進入哪個片區。同樣,以太坊分片要求每個片區的三分一驗證者,來確認區塊的正當性。

除此之外,分片在設計上應該限制每個片區的最小驗證者數量規模,以減少將惡意節點分配給同一片區的可能性。綜合上述措施,區塊鏈網絡的效率會大幅提升,同時不會犧牲安全性。

總結

私有系統通常會使用分片技術,將數據庫或搜索引擎作橫向分隔、減輕負載,但是將其實施到公共區塊鏈中仍然是一項挑戰。要維持系統去中心化、運作機制透明,會使同時保持系統安全水平變得困難。除了單片區接管攻擊外,分片技術的開發人員還面臨例如跨片區資料傳輸等其他問題。

分片被視為解決區塊鏈運作難題最可行的解決方案之一。假如分片技術成功實施,網絡交易成本將會大幅降低,並且讓程式開發者可以建立更複雜的去中心化應用程式(DApp)。

相關資訊:

分片技術常見問題解答 - 以太坊
https://github.com/ethereum/wiki/wiki/Sharding-FAQs

Zilliqa設計(網絡分片)
https://blog.zilliqa.com/https-blog-zilliqa-com-the-zilliqa-design-story-piece-by-piece-part1-d9cb32ea1e65

以太坊分片概述和交易確定性問題
https://medium.com/@icebearhww/ethereum-sharding-and-finality-65248951f649

由Genesis Block 交易員Charlie撰寫
如有任何疑問,請電郵至 charlie.tsang@genesisblockhk.com / @GBCharlie

Genesis Block
Home » What is Sharding? – A Solution for Blockchain Scalability

What is Sharding? – A Solution for Blockchain Scalability

TLDR: Bitcoin & Ethereum are slow networks. Sharding can divide the mining capacity into small shards, each capable of processing transactions in parallel. Sharding = Speed!


Scalability of Blockchain

The lack of scalability, only capable of processing a few transactions per second, is a major bottleneck for blockchain technology to garner mass adoption. With only 5 transactions per second (tps) for Bitcoin and 12 transactions per second for Ethereum, existing blockchain solutions are not competitive to centralized solutions like Visa as a payments system and AWS as cloud computing service. For example, with the growing popularity of CryptoKitties in 2017, it slowed down the Ethereum network significantly with just a few thousand users. This is certainly a concern for companies using Ethereum to power their services.

Currently, every computer maintaining Bitcoin and Ethereum network are working on the same public ledger. Every node has to process every single transaction. Adding more computers into the network improves only security but not efficiency. A blockchain trilemma is formed as none of the mentioned blockchains can achieve scalability, security, and decentralization at the same time.

Bitcoin and Ethereum are networks secured by Proof-of-Work. Hundreds of thousands of computers and specialized mining machines around the world are used to process transactions. As a P2P cash system / a world computer, Bitcoin and Ethereum are both secure and decentralized. However, they are not immediately scalable. To improve scalability, a lot of solutions have been suggested. For example, BitcoinCash (fork of Bitcoin) increased block size to allow more transactions to be processed in each block, while Lightning Network (second layer) utilized off-chain payment channels to reduce the burden on the main chain. Sharding is one of the most popular approaches being developed by different blockchain projects including Ethereum, Zilliqa, Quarkchain, etc.

 

What is Sharding?

Sharding is a horizontal partitioning, a widely used database design principle, that separates database servers to spread the load. It was introduced for blockchain to solve scalability issues and latency issues.

Implementing sharding in the blockchain, the network is separated into different teams (shards). The shards can process transactions in parallel. Each node will have only part of the data on the blockchain, not the entire information. As a result, more transactions can be processed at the same time. For example, imagine a network of 1,000 nodes; one may divide the network into 10 shards each composed of 100 nodes. The speed should increase by 10-fold.

 

1000 nodes can be divided into 10 shards (100 nodes each) to achieve 10x performance.


Single-Shard Takeover Attack

By implementing sharding, a new risk arises, the single-shard takeover attack.

Single Shard Attack means one shard is fully controlled by malicious nodes and transactions may be modified.

To prevent a single-shard attack, it is important to prevent attackers from focusing their hash-power onto a single shard.

The way to assign nodes into different shards is the key. A random sampling of validators on each shard is suggested for Ethereum’s sharding solution. Sufficient randomness can ensure that validators will not know which shard they will get in advance. Also, it requires ⅔ of all validators on a shard to confirm the legitimacy of a block.

Apart from this, the minimum size of a shard should be limited to reduce the possibility that malicious nodes are assigned to the same shard. With the above strategies, the security of the network will not be sacrificed for the tremendous improvement on efficiency.


Conclusion

Sharding is commonly used in a privately owned system. It can horizontally spread the load for a database or search engine. However, implementing it into a public blockchain is still a challenge. The nature of decentralization and transparency makes it difficult to maintain security. Apart from single shard attacks, developers face further issues such as cross-shard communication.

If successful, sharding will greatly reduce transaction costs and allow developers to build more sophisticated dApps. It is considered one of the most feasible solutions for the blockchain trilemma.

 

Further Readings:

Sharding FAQs – Ethereum
https://github.com/ethereum/wiki/wiki/Sharding-FAQs

The Zilliqa Design Story Piece by Piece: Part 1 (Network Sharding)
https://blog.zilliqa.com/https-blog-zilliqa-com-the-zilliqa-design-story-piece-by-piece-part1-d9cb32ea1e65

Ethereum Sharding: Overview and Finality – Hsiao-Wei Wang
https://medium.com/@icebearhww/ethereum-sharding-and-finality-65248951f649

 

Written by Charlie Tsang, Trader at Genesis Block
For any queries please contact [email protected] / @GBCharlie