what is IOTA-05

「區塊鏈3.0」IOTA:未來的物聯網加密貨幣

分散式賬簿技術IOTA,主要應用於記錄及執行物聯網(IoT)生態體系中不同設備之間的資料傳輸及轉移,目標是成為透過物聯網設備進行交易的標準技術。IOTA可以讓用戶在人與機械設備之間交換價值和數據。 IOTA創辦人希望使其技術成為「自由參與的物聯網公共樞紐,讓各類型設備可以具備相互操作能力」。IOTA容許任何人查閱及參與,並讓任何可連接的設備都可用作交易。此外,IOTA創辦人的未來目標,亦包括開發一個毋須區塊(blocks)、毋須礦工(miners)、不存在交易費用的科技平台,通過該平台來實現機械設備之間的經濟關係,成為人與機器經濟之間的橋樑。 

IOTA創辦起源

IOTA由Sergey Ivancheglo、Serguei Popov、David Sonstebo、Domink Schiener,於2015年10月宣布成立,團隊於比特幣網上論壇同時宣布代幣發售計劃。IOTA成立起源可以追溯到一個稱為Jinn的項目;該項目旨在創建一種低成本、高效能的三進位(ternary)電腦處理器。IOTA並推出其原生加密貨幣 mIOTA,在2016年的比特幣熱潮下,mIOTA 的市場價值一度高達145億美元。

IOTA解決的技術挑戰

在基本區塊鏈架構下建立的加密貨幣,存在多個問題與挑戰,包括少數人集中或壟斷挖礦活動、網絡處理速度緩慢、難以快速擴充容量應對需求等 — IOTA希望成為這些問題的解決方案。 

在比特幣區塊鏈上,由於區塊容量限制、礦工需要解決題目的難度等因素,比特幣交易容易積壓。IOTA可以解決這問題,主要因為它在設計上不存在交易積壓情況。

IOTA如何解決區塊鏈技術問題

針對比特幣系統反映的區塊鏈技術挑戰,IOTA團隊著手創建一個稱為 “ Tangle(纏結)”的新型數據結構、即是電腦儲存系統中整理數值表示的方式。纏結被稱為有向無環圖(DAG,directed acyclic graph);以圖像顯示,其概念是可以讓所有邊朝著同一個方向延伸拓展、且讓所有點有著先後順序。在這個非線性的系統中,每個人都扮演著平等的角色。因此,如果網絡中有交易產生,則交易發起者必須查核、驗證隨機的以往交易。當中機制透過系統背後的加密算法執行。

纏結(Tangle)技術優勢:

  • 可輕易快速擴充容量
  • 資源需求低
  • 零費用交易
  • 快速交易
  • 演算法可抵禦量子電腦運算攻擊
  • 去中心化架構

Tangle(纏結)的數據結構設計,讓IOTA具備處理小額交易和快速交易的功能,這讓IOTA可以解決比特幣的高額交易費用問題。此外,IOTA的技術優勢在於,愈多人使用該平台,將使交易速度更快,這緩解了許多區塊鏈網絡出現的、交易時間偏長的問題。

如何使用 IOTA?

目前IOTA的實際應用程式,可顯示出IOTA的使用及運作方式: 

感測及微型定位技術平台Ruuvio,可用於多方面的保安及物流領域,尤其在環境監測及冷鏈物流管理方面,這些技術對於公司用於監測產品的溫度及位置資訊至關重要,例如運送牛奶等新鮮產品,以及運送冷凍保鮮產品等。相關物聯網設備具有防水設計,可以持續運作數年。借助IOTA的技術,Ruuvio可以加密、掩蓋該產品接收的數據,亦有助Ruuvio技術因應市場需要開發新用途。 

IOTA技術具有強大適應性,行業應用用途廣泛,未來發展值得關注。

IOTA與比特幣區塊鏈比較:

IOTA可以視為比特幣區塊鏈的升級版。IOTA的創辦理念,是要建立一個更去中心化、更快速處理的技術平台,但是目前而言,IOTA尚未實現該目標、平台尚有很大改進空間,而比特幣區塊鏈仍然是加密貨幣領域的龍頭代表。

什麼是 mIOTA?

mIOTA是IOTA平台的原生加密貨幣,作為該網絡的交易媒介。mIOTA的出現可以追溯到2015年,當時項目團隊通過眾籌籌集了50萬美元。與比特幣不同,IOTA團隊預先挖出mIOTA代幣,而且,IOTA平台在交易共識的產生方式亦與區塊鏈有所不同。IOTA團隊希望該代幣將以公平的方式創建、沒有由創始團隊鎖定持有的代幣、沒有作為早期投資者的公司、也沒有由創辦人享有的代幣。mIOTA代幣背後的IOTA基金會是非牟利組織,團隊希望此管理機制,能夠為代幣帶來更大信任和價值,並進一步實現為世界創建開源程式協議的願景。如前所述,該系統中沒有礦工或代幣權益抵押者。而且,在該網絡中,資料數據的傳輸,毋須任何費用即可進行 — 這是目前很多數碼資產無法實現的功能。

如何購買 mIOTA 代幣?

如同許多其他加密貨幣一樣,IOTA可以在大型加密貨幣交易所、或透過OTC服務購買。如果你有興趣購買mIOTA代幣,歡迎你聯絡我們,安排OTC交易服務。

如何儲存 mIOTA 代幣?

用戶可以通過創建安全性高的密碼(seed),將密碼訊息保存在硬件錢包(或稱冷錢包),來儲存mIOTA代幣。關於儲存mIOTA的安全程序,請閱讀IOTA的教學文章: https://blog.iota.org/the-secret-to-security-is-secrecy-d32b5b7f25ef

IOTA 的未來

儘管IOTA目前的發展進度,與團隊及市場的預期仍有落差,但它無疑在加密貨幣領域帶來創新。IOTA平台仍有許多可以改進的地方,但是,該技術將來肯定會在其他行業領域使用,證明了加密貨幣行業正在邁向正確方向發展。感謝你閱讀此文章,想了解IOTA、以及其他加密貨幣的最新資訊,歡迎訂閱我們的通訊,並查看以下相關內容。

通訊

參考資料來源:

https://www.iota.org/

https://www.investopedia.com/terms/i/iota.asp

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/IOTA_(technology)

https://medium.com/@linda.xie/a-beginners-guide-to-iota-a84424ff5536

https://www.investopedia.com/news/how-keep-your-miota-safe/

https://www.coingecko.com/en/coins/iota

what is IOTA-05

Blockchain 101: What is IOTA?

IOTA is a distributed ledger technology that is used to record and execute transitions between devices in the Internet of Things (IoT) ecosystem. IOTA hopes to become the de facto standard for conducting transactions on devices. So by utilizing the platform, users can exchange value and data between humans and machines. The founders of IOTA hope to make the ledger a “public permission-less backbone for the Internet of Things that enables interoperability between multiple devices.” So, this would mean that it will enable transactions between devices that have a connection, and anyone will have access to it. Moreover, the founders also hope to develop a platform where no blocks, no miners, and requires no transaction fees. The founders of the platform hope to utilize this platform to enable economic relationships between machines while also bridging the human and machine economies. 

A Brief History of IOTA

The founding of IOTA was by Sergey Ivancheglo, Serguei Popov, David Sonstebo, and Domink Schiener. The announcement of the platform was in October 2015 through a post told of a token sale via an online Bitcoin forum. The roots of the platform actually goes all the way back to the Jinn project. The Jinn project aimed to create a low-cost and energy-efficient ternay hardware. Furthermore, the company began introducing their cryptocurrency, mIOTA which was able to reach a peak evaluation of $14.5 billion with the help of Bitcoin mania during 2016.

What Problem does IOTA Solve?

IOTA hopes to solve multiple problems that have an impact cryptocurrencies built on standard blockchains. These include problems of centralization of mining, low network speeds, scalability, and increasing number of transactions a blockchain can process. 

IOTA can solve these problems since it would not require a backlog of transactions. So on Bitcoin’s blockchain, there is a backlog of transactions because of the small block sizes and difficulty of puzzles that miners need to solve.

How does IOTA solve the problem?

To solve the problems that the IOTA team saw with Bitcoin, the team set out to create a new data structure known as Tangle. This system is a way to organize numeric representations in a computer’s memory system. Tangle is a Directed Acyclic Graph (DAG), which is a system of nodes that are not sequential. In this system, everyone plays an equal role. So if a transaction occurs in the network, the issuer must ensure and validate the previous and random transactions. This is done via cryptographic algorithms behind the scenes.

The Benefits of Tangle:

  • Highly Scalable
  • Low Resource Requirements
  • Zero-Fee Transactions
  • Fast Transactions
  • Optional Quantum Robustness
  • Decentralization

With the help of Tangle, it allows the platform to achieve micro transactions and speed. Micro transactions refer to transactions that cost fractions of cents. This helps to solve the issue that many Bitcoin users face with high transaction fees. Furthermore, the cool thing about IOTA is that with more people using the platform, it will allow the transactions to be faster. This alleviates the issue that many cryptocurrencies face with long transaction times.

How to Use IOTA?

Let’s dive into some real-world applications where that currently use IOTA: 

Ruuvio is an advance open-source sensor and beacon platform. The platform has many security and logistic uses. The monitoring of environmental and cold chains are the most notable of the platform. These monitorings are extremely crucial to the monitoring of a product’s temperature or even its whereabouts. So you can think of this as fresh produce like delivering milk and needing to stay within a certain temperature for it to stay fresh. The technology is waterproof and can last up to several years. With the help of IOTA’s technology, it can help encrypt and mask the data that the product receives. Furthermore, this helps create many use cases for ruuvio’s technology in the future making definitely something to look out for. 

As you can see, IOTA technology is quite adaptable and can use i in a wide range of industries. It will be interesting to see the continuous development of the platform.

IOTA vs BTC:

IOTA can be seen as an upgrade of the Bitcoin platform. The founders of the IOTA platform began with the hopes of creating a more decentralized and faster platform. However, IOTA doesn’t live up to the hype and the promises that they claim, it certainly does have a lot of space for improvement. However, as of right now, Bitcoin still remains the de facto standard for cryptocurrencies and will still remain in its place in the crypto space.

What is mIOTA?

mIOTA is the native cryptocurrency to IOTA’s network. The founding of mIOTA dates back in 2015 when raising $500,000 via a crowdfund. The currency is used to calculate transactions in the network. Unlike Bitcoin, they pre mine mIOTA, and the consensus of the transactions occurs differently in comparison to the Blockchain. The company envisions the token will create fairly with no locked tokens, no early corporate investors, and no tokens given to its founders. The IOTA Foundation behind the mIOTA token is a non-profit organization. So they hope that this feature gives the token more trust and value and further envisions the creation of an open-source protocol for the world. Furthermore as mentioned before, there are no miners or stakers in this system. Above all this allows data to be transacted without any fees which is a feature that few digital assets can achieve.

How can you buy mIOTA?

Like many other cryptocurrencies, IOTA can be bought via large exchanges. The currency can also be bought via OTC portals. So if you have an interest in purchasing mIOTA, let us know!

How can You Store mIOTA?

You can store mIOTA by generating a strong seed. Once they generate a strong seed, they can save that information on cold or hard storage. Check out this article by IOTA to ensure the safety of your mIOTA. https://blog.iota.org/the-secret-to-security-is-secrecy-d32b5b7f25ef

The Future of IOTA:

While IOTA doesn’t currently live up to the hype that we wish for, it definitely reinforces the innovative nature of the crypto industry. The IOTA platform still has many areas of improvement. However, the technology is definitely something to use in the future among other industries. So IOTA proves that the crypto industry as a whole is moving on the right track.

Newsletter

What is Serum (SRM)?

What is Serum (SRM)? In collaboration with our partner, Alameda Research, we are excited to announce the release of the Serum token. The Serum token

Read More »

What is DeFi?

DeFi is an acronym for Decentralized Finance. This generally refers to digital assets, smart contracts, protocols, and DApps (decentralized applications) that are built on Ethereum.

Read More »

Resources:

https://www.iota.org/

https://www.investopedia.com/terms/i/iota.asp

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/IOTA_(technology)

https://medium.com/@linda.xie/a-beginners-guide-to-iota-a84424ff5536

https://www.investopedia.com/news/how-keep-your-miota-safe/

https://www.coingecko.com/en/coins/iota