在這文章中,我們將介紹加密幣101:什麼是Tether(USDT)? 你們中的許多人已經聽說過Tether(USDT),這是一種由法定貨幣支持的數字貨幣。該代幣被稱為穩定幣,因為它與美元掛鉤,主要是用作交易數字資產。Tether 是由Tether Limited發行。

在Tether推出時,這加密貨幣推行時極具爭議性,但我們不會深入探討。Tether 在最初的時候是使用比特幣區塊鏈,後來轉移到以太坊和Tron的區塊鏈上。截至目前,全球有數百個不同的數字貨幣交易所和數十億美元的交易都是使用Tether交易。 

什麼是Tether?

什麼是USDT? USDT與美金固定為1:1。 USDT (Tether) 是目前最受歡迎與美元掛鉤的加密貨幣。它原先是存在於比特幣區塊鏈上,後來進一步與以太坊和Tron的區塊鏈整合。 USDT已於數百個交易所上支援,並且在全球使用USDT的交易金額達到數十億美元。Tether指出 USDT的價值是以一對一比例的美金儲備支持。但是,USDT的價格可能會有浮動,2018年曾以多於10%的折扣價格交易。

Tether被認為是一個有效轉移資金的方式。即使在有資本管制的國家/地區,用戶也能夠買賣貨幣並用於國際交易。因此,龐大的國際支付市場令Tether的供應需求浮動的最大原因。

Tether 的發行與換購

Tether的發行和換購是其中一個方法將價格維持為1美元。每次發行或換購均收取0.1%的費用。Tether公司願意以 0.999 美元的價格回購USDT,並以1.001美金的價格出售USDT。此機制目標是將USDT價格維持在1美元與0.2%的價差之內。  

Tether USDT發行和贖回的收費

USDT的價格波動

USDT/USD

USDT 通常與美金、比特幣 (BTC)、以太幣 (ETH) 和其他山寨幣和貨幣進行交易。USDT/USD 的市場在Binance,Kraken和FTX 很受歡迎。價格通常在1美元附近波動,並且在極端市場中可能會更波動。

推動USDT價格上漲的力量

由於加密貨幣可以在市場上自由交易,USDT的價格會受到不同因素影響。USDT 需求和供應量來自Tether的價格維持機制、跨境支付處理商和市場情緒。

跨境支付

在資本管制的國家/地區,USDT 被活躍地使用於交易和國際支付。例如,中國進口商每天需要購買超過3000萬美元的USDT,以將資金運回中國。龐大的國際支付市場已成為USDT價格變動的主要原因。這為交易員製造了套匯的機會。

Tether 的信譽

儘管白皮書列明1 USDT 等同於1 美元的儲備,但始終 Tether 被質疑它的合法性。它的儲備一直是個謎,因為有謠言指 Tether的儲備不足以支持USDT的發行量。上一次審計是在2018年中期由一家華盛頓律師事務進行的。由於不信任和市場的猜測導致2018年10月價格大幅波動。

10月初,彭博社報導說,Tether一直在使用的Noble Bank正在出售。投資者開始擔心這是否會影響Tether的美元儲備。 10月15日,Binance將USDT 移除的虛假公告在Twitter上流傳。因 USDT 提款次數暴增導致網絡擁堵。結果,一些交易所停止了USDT的提取服務。因此,焦慮的投資者急於將USDT出售為比特幣或其他加密貨幣。在此期間,USDT的價格一度跌破0.9美元。

主要美元穩定幣的市值(coinmarketcap.com)

總結

Tether的信譽一直引起人們的關注,尤其是Tether是否有足夠的儲備。儘管有這樣的猜測,Tether仍處於最高位置,市場份額是其他美元穩定幣的10倍。考慮到有更多大型的電子貨幣推出,例如Facebook的 Libra和中國央行數字貨幣,將來Tether是否能夠保持這個主導地位?但截至現時為止,它仍然是一個很有效轉移資金的工具。

感謝您閱讀我們的加密幣101:什麼是Tether(USDT)?如果您有任何疑問,請在下面留言!

保持更新!

了解更多

Goldman Sachs logo on a black reflective surface

高盛重啟加密貨幣交易業務

Wall Street giant Goldman Sachs has restarted its cryptocurrency trading desk and will begin dealing Bitcoin (BTC) futures and non-deliverable forwards for clients from next

更多

One Response

發表回覆

你的電郵地址並不會被公開。 必要欄位標記為 *

what is tether

Crypto 101: What is Tether (USDT)?

In today’s article we’ll be covering Crypto 101: What is Tether (USDT)? I’m sure many of you have already heard about Tether (USDT), a digital token backed by the fiat currency. The token is most widely known as a stablecoin as it is pegged to the USD for trading digital assets. The initial issuing was done by Tether Limited.

At the launch of Tether, the initial reception of this crypto was that of controversy, but we won’t dive into that. The introduction of this cryptocurrency was first on the Bitcoin blockchain and later integration with Ethereum and Tron’s blockchain. As of right now, the digital currency supports hundreds of different exchanges and billions of dollars in transactions using Tether across the world. 

What is Tether?

Tether or USDT is a cryptocurrency pegged 1 to 1 with the USD. USDT (Tether) is currently the most popular USD-pegged cryptocurrency for trading digital assets. According to Tether, the design of USDT is to be worth 1 USD and each tether unit it issues into circulation with the reserve backing in a one­-to-­one ratio. However, the price of USDT can be fluctuating and it was once trading at >10% discount to USD in 2018.

Many consider Tether as an optimal way for users to move effectively money without a decentralized authority. Users are able to actively trade the currency and use it for international transactions in countries with capital controls. Hence, the massive international payment market is a driving force for Tether’s supply and demand movements.

Issuance and Redemption of Tether

For Tether to equilibrate the price at one dollar, the company uses issuance and redemption to maintain it. Charging a 0.1% fee for every issuance or redemption. In USD terms, this means that the Tether company is always willing to buy back Tether at $0.999 and offer Tether at $1.001. This mechanism helps maintain Tether’s price within a 0.2% spread from one dollar.  

Fees charged by Tether for USDT Issuance and Redemption

Price Fuctuation of USDT

USDT/USD

Tether is actively trading against USD, BTC, ETH and other altcoins and currencies. Active USDT/USD markets can be found on Binance, Kraken and FTX. The price is usually fluctuating near 1 USD and can be volatile in extreme market movement.

Forces That Move The USDT Price

As a cryptocurrency that trades freely on the market, the price of USDT is driven by different forces. The forces driving Tether’s demand and supply are from Tether’s price maintaining mechanism, cross-border payment processors and market sentiment.

Cross Border Payments

Tether is actively trading for the purpose of international payments in countries with capital controls. For instance, Chinese importers are buying more than 30m USDT a day to move money back to China. The huge international payment market has become a driving force of USDT price movement. It also creates arbitrage opportunities to traders who have access to the respective currencies.

Credibility of Tether

Though the white-paper states that one USDT should receive the backing of one USD. There are a lot of questions about its legitimacy. The level of reserve has been a mystery as numbers of rumours suggest that Tether’s reserve is not sufficient to back the amount of USDT. The last audit was in mid 2018 by a Washington law firm. The mistrust and speculations brought in a large price movement in Oct 2018.

In early Oct, Bloomberg reported that Noble Bank, which Tether has been using, is seeking for sale. Investors were worrying if it would affect Tether’s USD reserve. On 15 Oct, a fake announcement of Binance delisting Tether was in circulation on Twitter. So a network congestion by numerous attempts of USDT withdrawals took place. As a result, a few exchanges halted the deposit and withdrawal of USDT. Causing anxious investors rushing to market-sell USDT to Bitcoin or other cryptocurrencies. The price of USDT once fell below $0.9 at that period.

Market Cap of the major USD stablecoins (coinmarketcap.com)

Conclusion

The credibility of the Tether has always arisen some concerns especially regarding whether Tether’s reserve has sufficient reserves. Despite such speculation, Tether still remains at the top, holding 10 times more market share than other USD stablecoins. It will be interesting to see in the future if Tether will be able to maintain such dominance given the introduction of Facebook’s Libra and China’s DCEP. However, for now it still serves as a valid tool for users to effectively move money around. 

Thanks for reading our article Crypto 101: What is Tether (USDT)? If you have any questions feel free to drop a comment down below!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Learn More

Genesis Block and FTX

ATMS NOW SELL FTT Today, we are happy to announce a collaboration between Genesis Block and FTX! We will be carrying their token, FTT through

Read More »
Stay up to date!