人民银行

中国人民银行:比特币「可以投资」

人民银行

中国人民银行代表,现任央行副行长李波,公开承认比特币(BTC)的资产地位,称比特币为可以作为一种「投资工具/投资选择」,而稳定币(stablecoin)亦是可以采用的投资工具。

李波的最新言论,被视为一大讯号,显示中国对比特币及其他加密货币的态度正在改变。甚至,有分析指,这讯号显示中国有可能让加密货币交易所,在国内重新合法经营。

2017年起,中国禁止在大陆进行首次代币发行(ICO)的集资活动。政府亦规定大陆加密货币交易所,不能接受大陆投资者用人民币入钱、出钱。但是,中国政府仍然容许大陆投资者持有加密货币,早前,个别中国法院都在诉讼判决中,将加密货币资产界定为「合法财产」。

人行副行长李波周日在博鳌亚洲论坛上表示:「加密资产是投资的选项,它本身不是货币,它是另类投资。我们认为加密资产(比特币、稳定币)将来应该发挥主要作用(的地方),是作为一种投资工具或替代性投资。」

关于中国对加密货币交易的禁令,李波表示中国政府仍在进行研究,考虑对于加密货币「应该有怎样的一种监管环境。虽然这个监管规则是最低的监管规则,但是仍然要有监管规则。」他补充,在中国政府设计好监管规则之前,中国会继续维持现行的规管措施。

中国对比特币交易的立场未有明确转变,而对于稳定币,李波强调需要建立一个更加强力的的稳定币监管框架。 「如果想让(稳定币)成为一个广泛使用支付解决方案的话,我们需要一个更加强有力的监管规则,也就是比比特币现在监管要更加严格。对于一个由私营企业发行的这种将会作为支付工具的的话,稳定币必须要接受严格监管,就像银行或者准银行金融机构一样得到严格监管。」

 

更严格规管稳定币 

中国正在开发官方发行的数码货币 DCEP、或称「数字人民币」(e-CNY)。 DCEP 并非加密货币(cryptocurrency),设计机制亦与比特币等加密货币截然不同。 

据报,中国即将在深圳试推 DCEP,让香港居民亦可以使用。在深圳的香港居民,将可以用香港手提电话号码,启动数字人民币的电子钱包,接收及传送数字人民币。如此一来,数字人民币就可以在深圳与香港之间,进行跨境流通。 

中国计划在2022年北京冬季奥运会期间,让外国消费者开始使用 DCEP,作为数字人民币的重大测试。

尽管中国数码货币发展迅速,全球四大会计师事务所罗兵咸永道(PricewaterhouseCoopers,PwC)指出,目前全球央行数码货币(CBDC)发展最先进的国家,是加勒比海岛国巴哈马(Bahamas)央行发行的「沙钱」(Sand Dollar)。

自去年起,巴哈马全国所有居民已经可以使用沙钱,他们可以用手机钱包、或实体付款卡,使用沙钱进行消费及资金转移。

罗兵咸永道发表的新研究报告指出,目前全球有超过60间中央银行正在研究 CBDC — 即由中央银行发行、国家法定货币的数码版。

最近,英国政府及中央银行,亦计划进一步研究发行 CBDC 的可行性。英伦银行及英国财政部已宣布正式成立一个专门工作小组,研究开发及发行英国的 CBDC。

People’s Bank of China

PBoC Recognizes Bitcoin as Feasible Investment

People’s Bank of China

Representative from the People’s Bank of China (PBoC), has called Bitcoin an “investment alternative”. Li Bo, deputy governor of the Chinese central bank, also said stablecoins are feasible investments.

Some believe China is softening its tone towards Bitcoin and other cryptocurrencies. It can be a signal that it might be possible to have regulated crypto exchanges in the massive China market.

Since 2017, China has banned initial coin offering (ICO) activities in the nation. The government has ordered domestic crypto exchanges to stop the fiat on- and off-ramp channel for investors. But it does not penalise the ownership of crypto. Courts in China have regarded crypto as ‘legal property’.

“[A] crypto asset is an investment option, it is not currency itself,” said Li at the Boao Forum for Asia on Sunday. “We believe that encrypted assets [Bitcoin and stablecoins] should play a major role in the future either as an investment tool or as an alternative investment.”

Regarding China’s regulations towards crypto trading, Li said PBoC is still studying it and thinking about the appropriate regulatory requirements. Until the PBoC figures out what it needs to prevent these assets from creating serious financial risk, it will maintain the regulatory status quo, he said.

As China keeps its current stance on Bitcoin, Li highlighted the need for a strong regulatory framework on stablecoins. “If we want [stablecoins] to become a widely used payment solution we need a stronger regulatory rule, which is more stringent than Bitcoin’s current regulation,” said Li.

 

Stringent Regulation for Stablecoins 

China is working on its own digital currency, called DCEP, or digital yuan. It is not a cryptocurrency and it is different to Bitcoin. 

China is reportedly launching a DCEP trial in Shenzhen involving Hong Kong residents. Testing cross-border circulation of digital RMB in Shenzhen and Hong Kong, Hong Kong residents will be able to open digital RMB wallets ‘anonymously’ using a Hong Kong mobile phone number. 

China also plans a major trial to foreign consumers during the Winter Olympics in Beijing in 2022.

Despite China’s aggressive development in its digital currency, PricewaterhouseCoopers (PwC) said the country with the most advanced CBDC project is the Bahamas, with its Sand Dollar.

Since last year, Bahamas’ Sand Dollar has been available for all residents in the nation. They can access the currency through a mobile-based digital wallet, or a physical payment card.

In its new report, the Big Four accounting firm said that over 60 central banks are exploring CBDCs – digital versions of a fiat currency backed by a central bank.

Recently, the UK government and central bank plans to further explore a potential CBDC for the nation. The Bank of England and the UK Treasury have announced the launch of a taskforce to explore the launch of a CBDC. 

What is Ethermon?

You’ve probably heard of Pokemon right? Well have you ever imagined if Pokemon could one day be on the blockchain? Well let me tell you

Read More »