耶倫:恐怖組織用加密貨幣進行融資活動

耶倫:恐怖組織用加密貨幣進行融資活動

拜登即將上任美國總統,他選出的財政部部長人選耶倫(Janet Yellen)最新提到加密貨幣,強調對比特幣(BTC)和加密貨幣,用於恐怖組織融資和洗黑錢用途感到擔憂。

在美國參議院官員人選確認聽證會上,作為財政部長提名人選的耶倫,提到加密貨幣是監管洗黑錢和非法金融活動機構特別關注的目標。 

耶倫表示:「加密貨幣是特別值得關注的。我認為至少在交易層面上看,很多加密貨幣都主要用於非法融資活動。」她提到,美國政府應該研究新方法,遏止洗黑錢和「科技恐怖組織融資」活動透過加密貨幣平台進行。 

耶倫在2014年至2018年擔任美聯儲主席,期間她一直對加密貨幣、尤其比特幣,提出質疑。她曾形容比特幣為「高度投機性質的資產」,稱比特幣不能成為法定貨幣。

加密貨幣交易中的犯罪活動減少 

「她似乎忘記了美元是世界各地犯罪分子的首選貨幣。大銀行洗黑錢的規模,比整個比特幣市值更高。」數碼資產管理公司 Morgan Creek Digital Assets 聯合創辦人兼合夥人Anthony Pompliano 在 Twitter 上回應耶倫對加密貨幣的批評。 
 
耶倫的言論獲傳媒報道後,比特幣和其他加密貨幣錄得價格下滑。撰寫本文時,比特幣報價35,531美元,在24小時內下跌2.5%。至於以太幣(ETH),在升至歷史新高1,428美元後,最新價格稍為下跌至1,377美元,24小時內升幅收窄至4.1%。 

區塊鏈數據分析公司 Chainalysis 發表最新數據,顯示加密貨幣交易中的犯罪活動比率,在2020年大幅減少。在2020年,犯罪交易佔所有加密貨幣交易只有0.34%(約100億美元),該數字在2019年為2.1%(210億美元)。
 
 
通訊

Janet Yellen Warns Crypto Is Used for Terrorist Financing

Janet Yellen Warns Crypto Is Used for Terrorist Financing

Janet Yellen, who is expected to lead the US Treasury Department for the incoming Joe Biden administration, raised concerns around the use of Bitcoin (BTC) and cryptocurrency by terrorists and money launderers.

During the Senate confirmation hearing, the Treasury secretary nominee and former Federal Reserve chair highlighted cryptocurrencies are a particular concern for law enforcement officials charged with policing money laundering and other illicit finance. 

“Cryptocurrencies are of particular concern. I think many are used at least in a transaction sense mainly for illicit finance,” she said, adding that the US government should examine new ways to curb money laundering and “tech-terrorist financing” from occurring via cryptocurrency platforms. 

In her former post as Chair of the Federal Reserve from 2014 to 2018, Yellen has been skeptical about cryptocurrency, and in particular, Bitcoin, the largest cryptocurrency by market cap. In the past, Yellen described Bitcoin as a “highly speculative asset”, claiming that it doesn’t constitute legal tender.

Criminal Activity in Crypto Transactions Fell 

“She forgot to mention that the US dollar is the choice currency of criminals around the world. The large banks launder more money than the entire Bitcoin market cap,” tweeted Anthony Pompliano, co-founder and partner at Morgan Creek Digital Assets, in response to Yellen’s critique. 
 
After Yellen’s critical comments, Bitcoin and altcoins recorded price corrections. At the time of writing, Bitcoin is currently trading at $35,531, down by 2.5%. After reaching a new all-time high at $1,428, Ethereum (ETH)’s price slightly fell to $1,377, with the 24-hour gain reducing to 4.1%. 

Criminal activity in crypto transactions fell sharply in 2020, according to new data from the blockchain analytics firm Chainalysis. Criminal transactions represented 0.34% ($10 billion) in 2020, dropping from 2.1% ($21.1 billion) of all crypto activity in the previous year.
 
 
Newsletter