101 cover-04

加密貨幣101: 比特幣的演變

這次的加密貨幣教室會為你講解比特幣的發展,以及比特幣如何從2009年鮮為人知的電腦科學項目,發展到2020年迄今為止表現最好的資產類別。 

比特幣的起源

2008年金融危機造成的沖擊使人們開始懷疑法定貨幣體系,投機活動亦因此朝著可靠的的方向發展。這種趨勢正正為中本聰扎下創造比特幣的根基,中本聰希望創立一種點對點,並允許用戶自由交易而與傳統有別的金融系統。

這個概念徹底改變了交易模式。 在比特幣區塊鏈上創建了第一個區塊之後,有史以來第一筆比特幣交易發生在2009年1月。 

該交易在其代碼中藏有一條消息,該消息顯示為「泰晤士報 2009年1月3日,財政大臣即將對銀行實施第二輪救助」。 此消息引起了比特幣信徒的迴響,因為它表明了金融危機和比特幣被創立的根本目的。

首個交易匯率

2010年,比特幣與美元之間的首次匯率設定為1美元兌2300.03 BTC。一年後,10,000比特幣的價值約為25美元。有人將其用於購買兩個薄餅,這象徵著比特幣和實物商品的首次交易。 

比特幣第一次減半

 2012年11月,該貨幣出現了首次獎勵減半。獎勵減半大約每四年或每開採210,000個區塊發生一次, 減半導致處理交易的比特幣礦工所得到的獎勵減少了50%。

2013年,比特幣的牛市率為700%,前一年僅為13美元,創下歷史新高的266美元。 

如想閱讀更多,請按 此處。.

Mt. Gox 的故事

 2014年初, 由於行業缺乏基礎設施,總部位於東京的比特幣交易所Mt. Gox面臨保安危機。 最終導致了當時世界上最大的加密貨幣交易所倒閉。 

但自此以後,加密貨幣不停地發展,並開始引起像Microsoft這樣家喻戶曉的公司的注意,這代表了加密貨幣朝著更加安全和可靠的方向發展。 

比特幣期貨及衍生公具

隨著比特幣漸漸地被主流採用,它為比特幣期貨和期權之類的衍生品打開了市場。公司例如Bitmex是衍生產品,期貨和期權的先驅。許多交易員認為,這是“我們賺錢的地方”,並且視期貨、衍生品和現貨交易比特幣背後的主要推動力。 

現在,許多大型公司進入競爭激烈的競爭。隨著比特幣的發展,它漸漸成為平行傳統金融市場的金融工具。這是好事還是壞事還有待觀察。  

Bitcoin's Second Halving Event

 2016年,比特幣發生了第二次獎勵減半。兩個月後,比特幣達到了5,000美元的水平。 

可是由於投機買賣和監管增加的影響,導致比特幣的價格持續波動。 2017年,比特幣經歷了一次硬分叉,必須升級軟件。 

這導致了比特幣現金的出現,也是比特幣在2017年年底創下歷史新高20,000美元的一年。

比特幣進入主流市場

在2018年跌至3,100美元的低點之後,比特幣在2019年夏天經歷了第二次牛市,達到了14,000美元的高度。 自2017年以來,加密貨幣ATM呈指數增長,這成為大規模採用的基準。 從此以後,商人的增長和消費者對加密貨幣的期望也隨之上升。 

過去的五月,比特幣經歷了第三次的獎勵減半。 即使過去多年來呈波動,比特幣仍然設法保持了加密貨幣的基本信念:為人們提供政府以外的新交易方式(尤其是那些在處於惡性通貨膨脹中的國家),這是擁有自己資產全部所有權的一種方式,亦是財務自由和新資產類別的投資。 

比特幣技術成為大眾應用的工具

值得注意的是,世界上有超過17億人沒有銀行戶口或缺乏銀行服務。 在這17億人口中,大多數人可以使用智能手機。 像Starlink之類的公司的使命是提供全球互聯網覆蓋服務。 這些人將可以使用比特幣和加密貨幣,最終為他們提供了以前無法獲得的財務自由。

另外,公司例如 Starlink ,它的使命是為全球提供互聯網覆蓋。這些人將可以使用比特幣和加密貨幣,帶給他們前所未有的財務自由。 

60 Starlink satellites stacked together before deployment on 24 May 2019.

 

本文章的分享到此為止。如果你想學習更多加密貨幣的知識,記得留意我們的文章!

What is Serum (SRM)?

What is Serum (SRM)? In collaboration with our partner, Alameda Research, we are excited to announce the release of the Serum token. The Serum token

更多

Crypto 101: What is Yield Farming?

Welcome to another lesson from the Crypto Classroom What is Yield Farming? It’s probably one of the hottest buzzwords in the crypto industry today. Before

更多

甚麼是DeFi?

DeFi is an acronym for Decentralized Finance. This generally refers to digital assets, smart contracts, protocols, and DApps (decentralized applications) that are built on Ethereum.

更多

區塊鏈 101:什麼是 IOTA?

IOTA is a distributed ledger technology that is used to record and execute transitions between devices in the Internet of Things (IoT) ecosystem. IOTA hopes

更多

加密貨幣101:什麼是 Tezos (XTZ) ?

歡迎閱讀加密貨幣101:什麼是 Tezos (XTZ) ? Tezos是一個去中心化應用程式(dApps)和智能合約的區塊鏈平台。這平台是由Google X和Waymo的研究工程師Arthur Breitman和Arthur Breitman的妻子Kathleen Breitman 開發。

更多
通訊

Welcome to this Crypto Classroom episode Crypto 101: Evolution of Bitcoin. Today we’ll be talking about the evolution of Bitcoin and how it’s grown from a little known computer science project back in 2009 to the best performing asset class of 2020 so far. 

The Origin of Bitcoin

The recoil from the 2008 Financial Crisis led people to start doubting the fiat monetary system, as speculation grew towards its trustworthiness. This climate was the spark that lit the fuse for Bitcoin by its creator, Satoshi Nakamoto, who made a peer-to-peer system allowing users to trade freely without having to go through the traditional financial system.

The concept revolutionized the payment landscape entirely. After the creation of the first block on Bitcoin’s blockchain, the first ever Bitcoin transaction, occurring in January of 2009. Since then, the evolution of Bitcoin has been perpetual and becoming more and more mainstream. 

The transaction carried a hidden message in its code that read “The Times 03/jan/2009 Chancellor on brink of second bailout for banks”. This message resonates with true Bitcoin believers as it’s indicative of the financial crisis and the ultimate purpose for Bitcoin’s creation. 

The First Exchange Rate

In 2010, the first ever exchange rate between Bitcoin and the dollar was set for 1 dollar to 2300.03 BTC. A year later, 10,000 bitcoins were worth roughly 25 dollars which would its use was for the purchase of two pizzas, marking the first ever transaction of Bitcoin and physical goods. 

Bitcoin's First Halving

 In November of 2012, the currency had its first ever halving. Bitcoin halvings occur approximately every four years or after mining every 210,000 blocks. The halving results in a 50% reduction in rewards given to Bitcoin miners processing transactions.

In 2013, Bitcoin had a 700% bull run hitting an all time high of 266 USD after only being 13 USD the previous year. 

Read more about Bitcoin Halving here.

The Story of Mt. Gox

 In early 2014, Mt. Gox, a Tokyo-based Bitcoin exchange faced security challenges due to the lack of infrastructure in the industry. At the time this Shibuya exchange was handling 70% of all Bitcoin transactions worldwide. Overnight, the exchange made an announcement that 850,000 of their customers Bitcoins were missing and likely stolen. 

This ultimately led to the demise of at the time, the largest crypto exchange in the world. However, the currency has since been evolving and began drawing the attention of companies like Microsoft and other household names signalling movement in a more secure and trustworthy direction. 

BTC Derivatives and Futures

As Bitcoin saw more mainstream adoption, this allowed opening up a market for derivatives like Bitcoin futures and options. Companies like Bitmex are pioneers for derivatives, futures, and options. Many traders believe that this is “where we make money” and see the futures, derivatives, and spot trading being the main driving force behind Bitcoin for the foreseeable future. 

Competition is now getting fierce with many admirable companies entering the space. As Bitcoin evolves, its financial tools are starting to parallel the traditional financial markets. Whether this is a good or bad thing has yet to be seen.  

Bitcoin's Second Halving Event

 In 2016, Bitcoin was reaching its second halving event, two months later it would hit the $5,000 marker. 

However, the price of Bitcoin continued to fluctuate due to speculation and increased regulation. In 2017, Bitcoin underwent a hard fork where a change in the software had to occur. 

The results from this led to the creation of Bitcoin Cash and was also the year in which Bitcoin hit its current all time high of 20,000 dollars towards the end of 2017.

BTC Entering the Mainstream

After dropping to as low as $3,100 in 2018, Bitcoin went through a second bull run in the summer of 2019 reaching heights of $14,000. Ever since 2017, cryptocurrency ATMs have been growing exponentially, this serves as a benchmark for mass adoption. Merchant growth and consumer attitude towards the currency has also been on the rise ever since. 

This past May, Bitcoin went through a third halving. Even with the volatility over the years, Bitcoin is still managing to remain the de facto standard for cryptocurrencies: providing people with a new method of transaction outside of the government (especially countries struggling with hyper-inflation), a way to have full ownership of their money, financial freedom, and a new asset class to invest in. 

Technology as a Platform for Mass Adoption

It’s worth noting that there are over 1.7 billion people in the world that are unbanked or underbanked. Most of these 1.7 billion people have access to smartphones.

In addition, with companies like Starlink whose mission is to provide global internet coverage. These people will have access to Bitcoin and Cryptocurrencies, which ultimately provides them with a degree of financial freedom that was previously inaccessible to them. 

60 Starlink satellites stacked together before deployment on 24 May 2019.

 

That’s all for today, thanks for reading Crypto 101: Evolution of Bitcoin. If you’re looking to learn more about cryptocurrencies, check out our other videos and Subscribe below!

What is Alpha Homora?

What is Alpha Homora? With the rise of DeFi and Yield Farming over the past summer of 2020, the total transaction volume of DeFi for

Read More »

What is Kulupu?

What is Kulupu? A democratic project that allows the community to decide on the direction of the project based on an on-chain governance structure. The

Read More »

What is Keep3r?

On October 28th, a random article on Keep3r Network appeared out of nowhere. The article was written by Andre Cronje, founder of yEarn.Finance ($YFI). Andre

Read More »

BC Vault Review

Recently, with various information in the news regarding hacks and wallet addresses being stolen, one question has been thrown around a lot. Are my funds

Read More »

Genesis Block x Boxmining

Genesis Block x Boxmining: Genesis Block is excited to announce the appointment of our Strategic Advisor, Michael Gu of Boxmining. He is one of the leading

Read More »
Newsletter