privacy token square

Crypto 101:保护交易私隐的六大主要匿名币(Privacy Tokens)

比特币(Bitcoin,BTC)和以太币(Ether,ETH)作为加密货币两大主流资产,逐渐迈向全球普及应用,但是同时亦有另一类加密货币,愈发受到市场关注。比特币和以太币实际上在交易中,虽然不会公开用户个人资料,但是亦并非如大众想像般高度「匿名」或难以追踪,于是这类被称为匿名币(Privacy Tokens)的加密货币便应运而生,为用户提供真正高度隐匿的交易。

与其他加密货币不同,匿名币会将典型加密货币交易中显示的资料加以隐藏。在缺乏私隐的数码时代,每个人的私隐资料具有重要价值,而匿名币就主打让用户不会泄露身份,可以保障用户财务私隐资料。在加密货币交易情况下,假如使用的是比特币,现在已经有不少执法机构可以追踪涉及不法活动的比特币交易。于是,有用户就使用比特币交易混合器(例如 bestmixer.io),将原本的交易路径改变,尝试令交易难以被追踪,不过这并非完全有效。因为,几种专门用于隐藏交易资料的加密货币,便在市场上冒起。 

门罗币(Monero,XMR)

门罗币(XMR)是首个提供无法追踪交易的匿名币。 Monero的隐私功能由实现环签名系统的CryptoNote提供。每笔交易中,将包括许多地址以供混合。这会让侦查人员无法判断哪个地址是真正的发送者。它能为所有以环状签名的用户提供隐私。

此外,交易金额是保密的。门罗币采用了一个数学函数进行加密处理,这样只有发送方和接收方才能知道实际金额,其背后的科技被称为Ring CT。

系统会为每笔交易都会产生的随机地址。因此,交易无法连结到你的公共钱包地址。

以上图表解释了门罗交易是如何经过多重转折的交易来掩盖发送路径。环状签名后,所有被引用的用户都有可能是真实的发送者。

Verge (XVG)

Verge(XVG)于2014年推出,原名 “DogecoinDark”;Verge 是采取开源程式码的匿名币,由国际开发人员团队创建。用户可以使用匿名工具 "TOR" 和匿名网络层 "I2P",从而隐藏交易的IP地址和地理位置资料。使用简单付款验证(Simple Payment Verification,SPV),用户可以在5秒用Verge进行一宗交易。

比特币官方钱包客户端,原名Bitcoin-QT (QT 钱包)、现在更名为Bitcoin Core (Core 钱包),具有内置的TOR整合功能和SSL加密功能,可以令用户的IP地址变得模糊隐匿。随着Verge推出Wraith协议升级,用户能够完全隐藏地址,跨越Verge区块链,私下发送和接收加密货币。 Verge的用户还可以转换使用私有和公共区块链账簿。此外,Verge亦提供五种不同的工作量证明(Proof-of-Work,PoW)的挖矿算法,包括Lyra2rev2、Scrypt、X17、blake2s、和myr-groestl。

Verge 主要特点:
- 可以挖矿产出代币

- 适合日常付款用途

- 去中心化加密货币

- 多名合作伙伴支持

Beam

Beam是基于Mimblewimble协议开发的新一代匿名加密货币,让用户可以完全控制其私隐资料。 BEAM系统允许用户决定应向个别交易方提供哪些资料。 Beam区块链采用高效且高度保密的Mimblewimble,在其区块链中没有储存任何钱包地址,亦没有任何交易发送者或接收者的资料。 

请点击以下连结以浏览关于Beam的更多资料:

https://docs.beam.mw/BEAM_Position_Paper_0.3.pdf 

GRIN(古灵币)

Grin(古灵币)是在2019年推出的匿名币,是首个实现Mimblewimble区块链协议的开源软件项目,具备纯匿名、不受审查限制、保护私隐的优点。古灵币不受任何公司、基金会或个人控制;相反,它是由分布在世界各地的开发人员公开参与而建立的。在交易于全个区块链网络上广播之前,Grin会在对等节点之间进行私下传播,从而隐藏新创建交易的来源。

Grin的设计让用户可以非常容易、快捷地设立全节点(full node),且提供多种Grin钱包让用户可以因应自己需要选用。接受Grin支付的服务机构和商家愈来愈多,可以预见,未来我们将会在日常生活接触及应用到Grin。

 GRIN(古灵币)主要特点:

- 完全隐藏私隐

- 可迅速扩充交易容量

- 轻松进行P2P交易

- 加强去中心化及挖矿机制

达世币(DASH)

Dash于2014年1月作为Xcoin推出,并更名为Darkcoin。 2015年3月,它再次改名为Dash,以避免与黑市拉上关系。达世币的主节点(Masternode)通过Privatesend执行其私有交易。 Privatesend可以将你的交易细分为特定的面额(0.01、0.1、1和10 DASH),并将其与来自不同人的交易混合在一起。几次混合之后,这些硬币将无法与网络上的其他代币区分开来。

 但是,用户可以选择是否使用 Privatesend 功能,假如不选用此功能,交易便会与比特币区块链上的交易一样透明。另外,如果交易是在匿名用户与公开用户进行,交易则仍然可以被追踪。

达世币(DASH)主要特点:

- 完全匿名交易

- 两层网络

- 由Masternode(完整节点)提供技术支援

大零币(Zcash,ZEC)

大零币(Zcash,ZEC)以比特币(Bitcoin)的程式码创建,使用称为zk-SNARK(Zero-Knowledge Succinct Non-Interactive Argument of Knowledge)的零知识证明技术,让一方可以向另一方证明其资料是真实、而毋须透露任何资料(除了资料属真实的证明)。 验证 期间,系统亦会对交易元数据(metadata)进行加密,包括发送金额、发送者地址和接收者地址。

与达世币(DASH)类似,用户可以选择公开发送或私下发送(已遮掩地址/透明公开地址)。 但是,大多数用户和交易所只会使用或支援透明公开的地址。使用遮掩地址功能的交易者,可能会引起执法机构的怀疑及关注。因此,使用大零币可说并非完全匿名的。

大零币(Zcash,ZEC)的主要功能:

- 使用零知识证明方法 zk-SNARK

- 可以选择公开或私下发送加密货币

如何购买匿名币?

部分匿名币可以在加密货币交易所购买及使用,而其他匿名币则必须在该加密货币项目的官方网站上购买。以下网址则是匿名币项目的官方网址。 

 

门罗币(Monero,XMR)https://www.getmonero.org/

Vergehttps://vergecurrency.com/

Beamhttps://beam.mw/

GRIN(古灵币)https://grin.mw/

达世币(DASH)https://www.dash.org/

大零币(Zcash,ZEC)https://z.cash/

 

*注:在决定购买匿名币或任何加密货币前,请事先自行做好资料研究!

总结

对于那些关心隐私的人来说,这些硬币比比特币更好。然而,一些人认为,他们的隐私科技可能存在漏洞。根据一篇研究论文[1],门罗币的交易存在可追溯的风险,因为在混合过程中可以看到一个格局。虽然这个问题已经解决,但是可能还有未被发现的漏洞。此外,门罗币的采用速度很慢,因为它的区块链非常复杂。由于使用率低(每天约3000交易)和对交易所的严格监管,政府也许能够追迹交易所的交易。

去年,日本政府宣布不鼓励当地交易所,让可以提供足够匿名性的加密货币上市。随着相关监管法规增加,匿名币可能需要减低匿名程度、或者变为用于地下市场。实际上,与常见的想法相反,加密货币并不比现金更适合用于非法或洗黑钱活动。执法机构调查人员不仅使用区块链分析,就可以监控可疑交易,他们还拥有各种工具和大量资源来追踪非法活动。 

与普遍的误解相反,对于非法活动或洗钱来说,加密并不是一个比现金更好的工具。除了使用区块链分析来监控可疑交易之外,调查人员还拥有各种工具和大量资源来跟踪非法活动。在最近的一次参议院听证会上,美国海关官员解释说,使用加密来洗钱是可以被追迹到的[3]。犯罪分子利用像比特币/门罗币这样的加密货币进行毒品交易和价值转移。然而,他们仍然需要将加密货币转换为法定货币。为了换取法定货币,他们必须通过加密交易所或p2p平台。侦查人员利用侦查、卧底、举报人等传统手段,结合区块链分析,找出违法行为。

通讯

privacy token square

Crypto 101: What are Privacy Tokens?

When you hear Privacy Tokens you might think of something similar to Bitcoin and Ethereum, two extremely well-known cryptocurrencies. However, unlike Bitcoin and Ethereum, privacy tokens are truly anonymous. We hate to break it to you but Bitcoin is not as anonymous as you may think. While no personal information doesn’t show on typical BTC transactions, it is not completely anonymous like Privacy Tokens.

Unlike other digital cryptocurrencies, privacy tokens will conceal the information present in a typical transaction. Hence, these coins allow for a non-disclosure of identity providing users with financial privacy. Especially with the scarce amount of privacy in the digital age, the privacy of our information plays a large role. Note that this is the Beginner’s guide to privacy coins. We can trace back and identify every Bitcoin related to illegal activity. Therefore, some people use a Bitcoin mixer, for example, bestmixer.io to make transactions untraceable and fungible. It can distort the trail from the original source but it is not completely untraceable. Therefore, several cryptocurrencies that specialise on concealing transaction data have been introduced. We will discuss a few major Privacy Tokens in this article. 

Monero (XMR)

Monero (XMR) is the first altcoin to provide untraceable transactions. Monero’s privacy comes from CryptoNote protocol that implements a ring signature system. During each transaction, there will be an inclusion of numerous addresses for mixing. An observer cannot tell which address is the real sender. It provides privacy  for everyone included in the ring signature.

Also, the transaction amount is confidential. They apply a Math Function so that only the sender and the receiver can know the actual amount. We call the technology Ring CT.

The generation of a one-time random address will be present for each transaction. Therefore, transactions are unlinkable to your public address.

The diagram illustrates how XMR transactions are obscured with more routes the transaction  goes through. After implementing ring signatures, all users referenced will have an equal possibility of being the actual sender.

Verge (XVG)

XVG was created back in 2014 under its original name, DogecoinDark. XVG is an open-source privacy coin that has a team of international developers. With the help of its anonymity tool Tor and its anonymous network layer I2P, it is able to hide transactions’ IP addresses and locations. Typical transaction speeds on Verge are estimated to be at 5 seconds with the use of Simple Payment Verification (SPV).

The Core QT wallet also has built-in TOR integration and SSL encryption which obscures the IP addresses of users. With the introduction of the Wraith Protocol upgrade, it also enables users to send and receive payments privately across the Verge blockchain by making addresses invisible. Verge users are also able to switch between private and public ledgers. Lastly, Verge offers five different Proof-of-Work algorithms for ming – Lyra2rev2, Scrypt, X17, blake2s and myr-groestl.

Key Features of Verge:
-Verge can be mined

-Allowed for everyday payments

-Decentralized money

-Backed by many partners

Beam

Beam is a next gen confidential cryptocurrency that is based on the innovative and elegant Mimblewimble protocol. This token allows users to have complete control over their privacy. The system allows users to decide what information should be made available to which parties. Moreover, no addresses are stored in the blockchain – this includes information about the sender or received of a transaction. Beam is also built on the efficient and confidential Mimblewimble blockchain. 

To read more about Beam, check out this article:

https://docs.beam.mw/BEAM_Position_Paper_0.3.pdf 

Grin

Grin is a Privacy Token launched in 2019. This token is censorship-resistant and is native to the Mimblewimble blockchain. The digital currency is not controlled by any company, foundation or individual; instead it is built openly by developers who are distributed around the world. There are also no addresses and amounts of transactions being relayed among a subset of peers before it is broadcasted.

Grin also makes it extremely easy and quick to set up a full-node. With the ease in running a full node, there are also a wide variety of Gin wallets that users can choose from to serve your needs. Grin is slowly gaining popularity as more and more services and merchants are accepting Grin from around the world. It will only be a matter of time until you see the adoption of Grin to our daily lives.

 Key Features of Grin:

-Complete privacy

-Scalable transactions

-Ease for p2p transactions

-Decentralized advancement and mining

Dash (DASH)

The launch of Dash (DASH) was in Jan 2014 as Xcoin and had a rebranding as Darkcoin. In Mar 2015, it rebranded again with the name Dash to avoid correlation to the dark market. The Masternode performs its private transaction through Privatesend. Privatesend can break down your transaction into specific denominations (0.01,0.1,1 and 10 DASH) and mix it with transactions from different people. After a few mixes, the coins will be indistinguishable from other coins on the network.

 However, the Privatesend function is optional. Other transactions are as transparent as those on Bitcoin’s blockchain. The anonymous transactions may still be traceable if they connect to the transparent ones.

Key Features of Dash:

-Completely anonymous transactions

-Two-tier network

-Powered by masternodes (Full Nodes)

Zcash (ZEC)

Zcash (ZEC) is based on Bitcoin’s code. They use a zero-knowledge proof method called zk-SNARK (Zero-Knowledge Succinct Non-Interactive Argument of Knowledge). It is a method that one party can prove to another party that a given statement is true, without conveying any information apart from the fact that the statement is true. Encryption for transaction metadata during verification, including the amount, sender address and receiver address.

Similar to Dash, users can choose to send publicly or privately (shielded address/transparent address). However, most users and exchanges only use or support transparent addresses. Those who use the shielded function will be quite suspicious to investigators. Therefore, using Zcash is not 100% anonymous.

Key Features of Zcash:

-Uses a zero-knowledge proof method aka zk-SNARK

-Can choose to send both publicly or privately.

How to Buy Privacy Tokens?

Some of the privacy tokens are available at exchanges while others have to be bought at the token’s official websites. The URLs below will correspond to each token’s official website. 

 

Monerohttps://www.getmonero.org/

Vergehttps://vergecurrency.com/

Beamhttps://beam.mw/

Grinhttps://grin.mw/

Dashhttps://www.dash.org/

Zcashhttps://z.cash/

 

*Note – before you make the decision in purchasing the crypto, make sure that you have done your own research!

Conclusion

For people who care about privacy, these coins are better than bitcoin. However, some suggest that there can be a vulnerability in their privacy technology. According to a research paper, there was a risk that Monero’s transaction can be traceable because a pattern can be seen in the mixing process. Though this problem has a solution, there may still be unforeseen vulnerabilities. Also, the adoption of Monero is slow because of the complexity of its blockchain. With low usage(~3000 tx per day) and intense regulation on exchanges, the government may be able to track transactions on exchanges.

Last year, the Japanese government discouraged exchanges from listing cryptocurrencies that can provide a sufficient degree of anonymity. With increasing regulations, privacy coins may need to compromise privacy or go underground. In contrast to the common misconception, crypto is not a better tool than cash for illegal activities or money laundering. Instead of just using blockchain analysis to monitor suspicious transactions, investigators have various tools and a lot of resources to track illegal activities. 

In a recent senate hearing, US Customs officials explained that money laundering using crypto can be traced. Criminals use crypto like btc/monero to trade drugs and transfer value. However, they still need to convert crypto into fiat. To exchange for fiat, they have to go through crypto exchanges or p2p platforms. The investigators utilize traditional methods such as surveillance, undercover and informants, in combination with blockchain analysis to find out the illegal activities.Riccardo Spagni, a core member of Monero has said that “Privacy isn’t a thing you achieve, it’s a constant cat-and-mouse battle.” It seems that uncrackable anonymity is not yet achievable for existing cryptocurrencies.

Newsletter

Tidal X Genesis Block

Today we are ecstatic to announce another partnership with TIDAL. TIDAL is a multi-chain open market platform that allows for programmable insurance. So the platform

Read More »

What is Kulupu?

What is Kulupu? A democratic project that allows the community to decide on the direction of the project based on an on-chain governance structure. The

Read More »